Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: CONTRAST

STATUE  OF MARIO LEMIEUX

LE MAGNIFIQUE’

BEFORE

AFTER

 

I took this photo at the unveiling of the statue of Mario Lemieux  ( Le Magnifique’ ) on March 7, 2012 in front of the Consol Energy Center, the new home of the Pittsburgh Penguins.

This is my first time using Photoshop to edit an image for the challenge.  I took the original and converted it to black and white and blured out the background to show more contrast.  I hope you enjoy the results.

More entries for the challenge can be found at the Daily Post at WordPress found here:  http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/weekly-photo-challenge-contrast/#more-3012

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

30 Responses to “WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: CONTRAST”

  1. I do like the editing that you have done on the second photo. I think that the black and white has brought out the texture of the sculpture, and the contrast has removed the distracting windows. Good job.

  2. Nice result Francine.

  3. I like the result, however the original photo is also great.
    I didn’t know Mario has a statue dedicated to him… Good to know.

  4. Very cool effect with the photoshop! is that a hard tool to learn how to use?

    • I recently installed it on my computer also took a class on it and bought two books and I’m still learning how to use it. I’m not very computer savey and it takes me awhile to learn it. This was simple. Only had to click two buttons. ( smile ) Thanks for your comment. BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

      ________________________________

  5. [...] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: CONTRAST « Francine In Retirement [...]

  6. Cool, but, interestingly enough I actually prefer the original. The lines of the building behind the statue tend to give it more depth and life in my opinion. I don’t find them at all distracting.

  7. You did a great job on your photo shopping, Francine.

  8. Well done, Francine!

  9. [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Contrast (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) [...]

  10. very nice. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Hi Francine! I wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the 7 x 7 Link Award! Thanks for such an enjoyable blog. Here’s the link: http://megtraveling.com/2012/03/09/7%c3%977-link-award/

  12. I love this post :)

  13. Great photo, love the B&W.

  14. I think the details of the face are also better in the edited one.

  15. [...] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: CONTRAST « Francine In Retirement [...]

  16. [...] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: CONTRAST « Francine In Retirement [...]

  17. nicely done and great contrast!

  18. The wonders, beauty and magic of photo shop. Beautiful images. Stunning.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,498 other followers

