Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

PHOTO FRIDAY: WORDS

Today is Photo Friday and the theme is WORDS.  Follow link to see other entries and join the fun.

JESUS LOVES ME

Jesus Loves Me

Anna B. Warner, 1820-1915

“I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”  (Luke 18:17)

Without doubt the song that has been sung more by children than any other hymn is this simple stated one by Anna Warner.  Written in 1860, it is still one of the first hymns taught to new converts in other lands.

Miss Warner wrote this text in collaboration with her sister Susan.  It was part of their novel Say and Seal, one of the best-selling books of that day.  Today few individuals would know or remember the plot of that story, which once stirred the hearts of many readers.  But the simple poem spoken by one of the characters, Mr. Linden, as he comforts Johnny Fax, a dying child, still remains the favorite hymn of countless children around the world.

Jesus loves me! This I know, for the Bible tells me so.  Little ones to Him belong they are weak but He is strong.

     Jesus loves me! Loves me still, tho I’m very weak and ill, that I might from sin be free, bled and died upon the tree.

     Jesus loves me!  He who died heaven’s gate to open wide;  He will wash away my sin, let Him little child come in.

     Jesus loves me!  He will stay close beside me all the way.  Thou hast bled and died for me; I will henceforth live for Thee.

     Chorus:  Yes, Jesus loves me!  The Bible tells me so.

“If there is anything that will endure the eye of God, because it still is pure, it is the spirit of a little child, fresh from His hand, and therefore undefiled.”  Ask God to give you this kind of spirit.

William B. Bradbury, 1816-1868

 Note:  Above information taken from the book “Amazing Grace” by Kenneth W. Osbeck

The above photo was taken in a little store in the Kitchen Kettle Village in Lancaster County PA.

PS  I learned how to re-size my photos from Russel Ray Photos, a fellow blogger, so it would be easier and faster for viewing.  This is a test photo.  I hope it worked. Thanks Russel.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

18 Responses to “PHOTO FRIDAY: WORDS”

  1. Picture loaded instantaneously!

  2. Makes me wanna cry. *sniff* Lovely post, Francine.

  3. Beautiful words, Francine. ;)

  4. Beautiful post. Blessed message

  5. Truly beautiful Francine :-)

  6. This is SO you Francine. Beautiful!

  7. Love your photo Francine. And that children’s song – nothing better than hearing it sung with the power and innocence of children. God bless you.

  8. So True Francine, I have taught Children in RE, Funday Schools, Sunday Schools and Children’s Camps for many years and their favourite song is Jesus Loves me with the actions and yes we must become as a child, dependant on and Trusting God.

    I have a quote on my desk and in my heart…..

    God said it!
    I believe it!
    That settles it!

    I don’t argue with God, I believe Him, what I don’t understand He will explain to me.

    Christian Love Anne

  9. used to sing it quite a lot in my own home language, Afrikaans, when I was a kid


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,507 other followers

