Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

THE DRAGONFLY

The weather in Pittsburgh has been cold and gray.  I have been stuck indoors not wanting to venture out. Even though I know there is some scene out there just waiting for me to capture.  Wanting to do something, I pick up my Photography magazine and read ‘if you can’t get outdoors take pictures of things around the house”. The simplicity of an object may have a story to tell.   I look out my front window and lo and behold I see someone has stuck a metal dragonfly on my lawn.  It made for an unusual sight sticking out of the snow. I felt the dragonfly was begging for me to take its’ picture.  I took some pictures and decided to do some research on dragonflies.  Here is what I learned.

What does a dragonfly symbolize?  A dragonfly is a symbol of sense of self, which comes with maturity.  It represents renewal, positive forces and power of life.  The animal symbolism of a dragonfly is associated with good luck, prosperity, swiftness, strength, peace, purity and harmony.  Dragonflies help you see through your illusions and allow your own light to shine in a new vision.  They remind us to pay attention to our deeper thoughts and desires. 

Dragonflies are adaptive insects.  They are more powerful during the summer, under the effects of sunlight and warmth.  They tend to live close to water.  Well, what does a dragonfly represent?  A dragonfly represents monsoon and rain. It also represents uncertain or unexpected changes in the climate or weather of a particular place. Being a creature of the wind, the dragonfly totem represents change. Its iridescent wings are extremely sensitive to the slightest breeze. They remind us to heed where the proverbial wind blows

I am glad I looked out my window and saw the dragonfly.  I would not have thought it had such great meaning.  It looks like this year ahead will be full of change, wonder and surprise.

4 Responses to “THE DRAGONFLY”

  1. What a happy surprise to find a dragonfly gift on your lawn. Sweet!

  2. thanks for sharing your dragonfly francine, great information too, i love “renewal, positive forces and power of life”!

  3. Great post on the dragonfly and Luck. Anything positive is worth checking into these days. Life has given me some things to ponder about, and your post helps me to realize that even if I don’t see the dragon fly that my post on ants has something encouraging to share. Thank you so much for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

