Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

DARE TO DREAM

DARE TO DREAM

Martin Luther King, Jr. had a dream and because of his fight for that dream I have been able to fulfill some of my own.  My daughter has been able to reach a few of her dreams, and my grandchildren can truly aspire to be whatever they dare to work and train for, even be President of the United States.  We have been given a chance to discover our potential, achieve our  dreams, and contribute to the world’s economic and social well-being.

I was able to obtain the American dream of owning my own home.  My daughter was able to go to the college of her choice, and my grandchildren are growing up without feeling the pain of racism.

Yet, I fear the dream for millions has become a nightmare because of the loss of their jobs and homes due to today’s economic crisis.

It is my prayer that we, like Martin, will be able to go to the mountain and see the Promised Land!

I am reminded that he said, “If you lose hope, somehow you lose the vitality that keeps life moving, you lose that courage to be, that quality that helps you to go on in spite of all. And so today I still have a dream.”

This day, January 16, 2012, we celebrate the life of Martin Luther King, Jr. and I too still dare to dream.  The road is ahead of us, to be traveled with foresight and courage.  Let us travel it together as one, united in purpose, free to dream.

 

6 Responses to “DARE TO DREAM”

  1. Great stuff! Also would make a great choice for the Weekly Photo Challenge “Hope”.

  2. What a beautiful post. I really love the American spirit of being able to dream and to be so enthusiastic about it and I really hope that continues regardless of the economic crisis. In Britain people are more reserved and of a glass half empty nature. I have achieved the dream of owning my home and after years of heartache the much sought after dream of becoming a mother.

  3. well said, Francine.


Leave a Reply

