Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

CAROUSEL

This week’s topic for “A-Z Archive photo challenge is the letter “C”.  I searched through my photos and found this one of a carousel.

How many of us remember our first experience on this amusement park ride?  The carousel or merry-go-round is a platform with seats for riders.  The seats are in the form of horses, pigs, zebras, tigers, mythological creatures (such as dragons, sea monsters or unicorns) and deer, to name a few.  Sometimes, chair or bench-like seats are used as well, and occasionally mounts can be shaped like airplanes or cars.  All of which are mounted on posts, many of which are moving up and down to simulate galloping, to the accompaniment of looped circus music.

I remember my early ride on one of these, clinging to the pole of a horse gently going up and down with my mother standing at my side.  Oh! maybe that was me with my daughter.  You know with age sometimes come foggy memories.  Anyway, now I go to the amusement park and head straight for the carousel to sit on one of the bench rides going round and round and when I get off (the ride usually slows down, not stopping) I may not be too steady on my feet but it is still fun.

4 Responses to “CAROUSEL”

  1. […] A-Z Archive: C! Challenge (francineinretirement.wordpress.com ) […]

  2. beautiful carousel

  3. I like your story telling
    “…and when I get off (the ride usually slows down, not stopping) I may not be too steady on my feet but it is still fun…” and also your wonderful photo!
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/01/17/a-z-archive-c-challenge/
    +


Leave a Reply

