Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

WEEKLY CHALLENGE: STREET PHOTOGRAPHY

I took the following photos at the encampment of the Occupy Pittsburgh movement back in October, 2011.  Today it is reported that the protesters have until Monday, February 6, 2012 to vacate the property at Mellon Green.

Street photography is extremely challenging – both in creating an image that is visually appealing and emotionally appealing reports Eric Kim, famous California-based street photographer.  He reports that it is through the candor of photographing a stranger that you can get a sense of who that person truly is and what is going on in their mind.

What can you tell about the following people?  Click on each photo for larger view.

 

2 Responses to “WEEKLY CHALLENGE: STREET PHOTOGRAPHY”

  1. great set of street photos, I love the expression on the face of the woman knitting.

  2. Whenever I take pictures of people I always get their permission to photograph them. Although sometimes I take the picture first to catch the moment. Either way I show them the picture after taken it and ask permission to use it and tell them what it is for. Often if they are interested I give them the address to my blog. I have found that people on the street love to have their picture taken. I have walked down the street with my camera around my neck and street vendors come up to me and ask to have their picture taken. Will be subject of another post.


Leave a Reply

