Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

YOUNG IN THE MIND

People grow old only by deserting their ideals.  Years may wrinkle the skin, but to give up interest wrinkles the soul.

You are as young as your faith, as old as your doubt; as young as your self-confidence, as old as your fear,  as young as your hope, as old your despair.

In the central place of every heart there is a recording chamber.  So long as it receives messages of beauty, hope, cheer, and courage — so long are you young.

When your heart is covered with the snows of pessimism and the ice of cynicism, then, and only then are you grown old — and then, indeed, as the ballad says, you just fade away.

—- Illustrations Unlimited, James S. Hewett, Editor 

During my retirement years I don’t have time to feel old and faded.  My faith keeps me young, hopeful, cheerful and full of courage to face tomorrow whatever it holds.  And if there are days when the body says, not today, I listen with a thankful heart that still beats and I say to myself, I still have today be glad and rejoice in it.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

19 Responses to “YOUNG IN THE MIND”

  1. This such and inspiring share, Francine, and so true. I think people sometimes take for granted that life is not guaranteed and that we should be grateful for each and every day, even those when we don’t feel our best. I hope you’re enjoying your retirement and finding time to simply stop and smell the roses. 😉

  2. Francine ~ just like always, you inspire, encourage, and bless your readers with words of loveliness. Your perspective is reassuring and encouraging. Thank you for taking the time to inspire and share with each of us. god blesss you~ Kate

  3. Congrats on your retirement. May you be blessed with many healthy, peaceful, and fun-filled days. Thanks for the inspirations.

    • Thank you. I’ve been retired for six years now and I’m enjoying every minute of it. I’m taking the time to smell the roses along with photographing everything I see.

      BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  4. Very inspiring words, Francine. 😉

  5. I love that you do not have the time to feel “old and faded”… A wonderful attitude. We ned to embrace life, enjoy each day… and thank God for his bountiful blessings.

  6. Beautifully written. Apt portrait.

  7. Beautiful and inspiring ~ Thank you.

  8. Such an inspiring piece! Thank you.

  9. Thank you for a lovely and inspiring post!

  10. Hi Francine, how did I know you would have the same focus as me, Age is in the heart it’s of the spirit not the wearing out of the outer flesh, but to be honest as they say, your as old as you feel… how about 108 right now for me, give or take a week. Thanks for your insight and uplifting focus on our Seniors.

    I’m very passionate about the Elderly and so is the Lord, we are to respect them and value their Live wisdom but more so their Godly wisdom.

    I adapted and created a Power point about the aged, that you may enjoy Francine, the Link is below. I like to share as you do the gifts God has given us and other peoples too, in Truth He tells us to because all good things come from Him so we are appreciating Him as well as taking an interest in what interests others as He asks.

    http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/moments-in-time/

    Christian Love Anne.

    • Anne, Thank you for your loving comment. We are one in the spirit. I have to install power point on my computer before I can see your link. So after I return from my trip to Cherry Blossom Festival I will do that. Always here to help in any way I can.

      BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  11. Sorry Francine I couldn’t find your About but we would like to offer you our dear Sister in The Lord, The King of Kings Friendship Award, it’s very differant from most, more like a blessing and some call it that or a gift, you can accept it as you feel in your heart or not, it is to afirm we are one, we are family.

    Blog Post – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/the-king-of-kings-friendship-award/

    Thank you again for sharing from your heart to mine.

    Christian Love Anne and Ron sends his blessings.

    • Anne, I am so honored to receive this King of King Friendship Award.  This one means so much to me.  I immediately posted on my blog because it gives honor to God and binds our friendship in Christian love.  I will be working on a post to acknowledge your special gift and blessing.  I’m still new at blogging and will try to fix My about.  I thought it was showing, I will have to read up on it to fix.  Thank you so much for thinking of me.   BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

      ________________________________

  12. A wonderful thought. I always thought I would feel different as I got older, but I don’t. I feel like I did when I was a kid. Mind over matter I guess.

  13. Inspirational Francine and blessings to you too!

  14. Definitely great words of wisdom. I love how you see things. Everyone should be so inspired to live this way. 😉 *hug*

  15. My English is very bad… but enough to enjoy your blog! I have to retire at 53 due to cancer… but I enjoy every day, every our! As you write, live begins when earning a living ends… greatings from Belgium!


Leave a Reply

