Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

WEEKLY IMAGE OF LIFE: OF DREAMS AND FREEDOM

THE STATUE OF LIBERTY

This weeks image of life challenge is Of Dreams and Freedom.  Visit related posts at this link.  One of the United States most recognized symbol of freedom and dreams is the Statue of Liberty.  The above are photos I took of her while on my visit to New York City last month.

Immigrants coming to America had their first glimpse of the statue which became an icon of freedom and a beacon of hope to those who settled here from other countries.

In her right hand was a torch symbolizing the light of reason and in her left hand the law of democracy inscribed with the date marking the centennial  of the signing of The Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1876.

Statue of Liberty Song

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free;
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore,
Send these, the homeless,
Tempest-tossed to me
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!

Then who can forget the words from the I Have A Dream speech by Martin Luther King, Jr.

“Free at last, free at last

Thank God almighty

we are free at last.”

One of the greatest authority on freedom comes from the Holy Bible which states:

“Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

John 8:32

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

28 Responses to “WEEKLY IMAGE OF LIFE: OF DREAMS AND FREEDOM”

  1. Great post and photos

  2. Beautiful Francine. Just perfect for the challenge.

  3. We went to see her on our recent trip. Would have liked to have seen the night shot. I did a course at Uni about the immigration and that quote has always stayed with me. Lovely post F!

  4. I always get such a thrill when I see lady Liberty, and I’m not even American. 😉

  5. Your words caused me to shed a few tears. I was with my friends yesterday, all sharing a similar dream, a similar journey. We shared how we all started, leaving our families, our homeland to go to America and parts of Europe and the Middle East. It was very humbling. Knowing where we came from and realizing where we are heading, and the “original” dreams we craved in our hearts will help set our life and priorities in the present. If we strip all the worldly material non-sense and negativism, it was the pursuit to life, liberty and happiness for ourselves and our love ones that inspired us to follow our dreams no matter how scary or uncertain it was at first. Great post my friend…and who can forget these words, “Free at last, free at last

    Thank God almighty

    we are free at last.” May we all never forget…

    • Thank you for your words of encouragement and sharing your story of you and your friends. I am so glad you are able to pursue your dreams and I wish you much success in fulfilling them.

  6. Youe poar reminds me the two books I love “John Adams” and “1776” by John McCullough, telling the history of fighting for freedom. Free at last! Thank you, Francine!

  7. Beautiful post and video Francine. That’s what I call rising to a challenge!

  8. The Lady is really something, isn’t she? Great response to the challenge, Francine.

  9. She’s definitely one of the greatest symbols of freedom ever known.

  10. […] Weekly Image of Life: of Dreams and Freedom (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]

  11. […] Weekly Image of Life: of Dreams and Freedom (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]

  12. Wonderful idea for dreaming! The Statue of Liberty gives so people hope and dreams as they enter the U.S. I love it!

  13. Thank-you, Francine for a lovely post. BTW,..I’m going to post about the sisterhood award in the next day or two! The post is written, I just need to upload it! 🙂

  14. These are wonderful images for the challenge. They are perfect. I had to do a speech in speech class on these very words. It brought me back to how proud I was to say them.
    Very ice …
    Isadora

  15. Excellent for the challenge Francine. Really great! You are amazing!
    Dream on.

  16. […] Weekly Image of Life: of Dreams and Freedom (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

