Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

Frank Lloyd Wright’s Duncan House

DUNCAN HOUSE

Last in the series on homes designed by Frank Lloyd Wright is the Duncan House.

The Duncan House is one of 11 modest Usonians that were prefabricated by a Wisconsin builder, Marshall Erdman, and constructed on lots chosen by the buyers. Donald Duncan, an electrical engineer, and his artistically inclined wife, Elizabeth, bought their Wright prefab after she read an article about the project in the December 1956 issue of House & Home magazine.

After Mr. Duncan died at age 95 in 2002, the house fell derelict. It was dismantled in 2004, moved in four trailers to Pennsylvania, and eventually put back together, from thousands of numbered pieces, at Polymath Park, a 125-acre tract of woodland owned by a young local builder, Tom Papinchak. He still owns the land under the house and is chairman of the nonprofit corporation that runs and maintains it.

While on the tour of the three Frank Lloyd Wright homes we dined at Treetops at Polymath Park Resort.  A Wright-inspired restaurant in a private, wooded setting.  Truly, a one-of-a-kind dining experience in the Laurel Highlands.

I hope you enjoy the photographs I took on this tour in the video below.

Related post Kentuck Knob

                           FALLINGWATER

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

10 Responses to “Frank Lloyd Wright’s Duncan House”

  1. This was a fantastic series, Francine. Thank you for taking the time to put it together and share it with us.

  2. I’ve so enjoyed your FLW house series, Francine. Thanks so much for the lovely photos. 😉

  3. Another lovely installment Francine! Thank you

  4. Very well done, and a great series! Thank you for sharing! God bless!

    Paulette

  5. I’ve really enjoyed these Francine. I like the first, falling water best. Thanks for your hard work 🙂

  6. So very interesting, thank you dear Francine!

  7. Nicely done, Francine. Really great.

  8. My family and I are big Frank Lloyd Wright fans. My mom is 83 years old and owns furniture designed by him. On my 50th birthday I took my husband, kids, mom and sisters to Fallingwater for the tour. Thanks for posting this. I’ll have to visit this beautiful place as well someday! Joanne

    • I hope you visited the other two post on FALLINGWATER and Kentuck Knob. I love his work as well. Thank you for sharing your comments.

      ________________________________

  9. I’ve seen two Usonian homes in person — Kentuck Knob and the Pope-Leighy House. I’ll have to put this one on my “Must See” list. Thanks for the informative blog. (If you are interested please stop by my blog to read about some of my FLLW adventures.) Cheers, Rita


Leave a Reply

