Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER D

DICKENS VICTORIAN VILLAGE SCENES

The Dickens Victorian Village is a unique walking tour experience along historic Wheeling Avenue in downtown Cambridge, Ohio.  I had the experience to visit it last December and took these photos that I hope you will enjoy viewing.  See the below video.

The classic Dickens-era scenes — 80 in all! — are comprised of 186 life-like figures and are placed at each of the historic lampposts and benches between 6th and 11th Streets on Wheeling Avenue, as well as in first and second-story windows throughout Cambridge’s downtown. In addition, Dickens figures “stroll” around the Courthouse lawn, appear at the Byesville Scenic Railway depot, and even skate around at downtown’s main intersection. The scenes enhance Cambridge’s outstanding 1800s architecture, eclectic shopping, charming streetscape, and eateries. 

I had a wonderful time photographing these life-size figures that take us back to another time in history.  I was so engrossed in my photography that I almost missed the departure of my tour bus.  In fact they had to call me on my cell phone to bring me back to the bus, which had moved to another location around the corner.  How embarrassing!

How about joining us in the weekly story challenges every Tuesday, sponsored by FrizzText on his site A-Z CHALLENGE located here.  You can also view other excellent post on the site.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

21 Responses to “STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER D”

  1. thank you for the tribute to Charles Dickens on our “D”-day!
    I saw the cinema movie by Roman Polanski about Dickens with great respect …

  2. Looks like a fun place to visit.

  3. Had no idea this place existed Francine! Cool shots.

  4. These places are great showing us a touch of how life used to be!

  5. I did not know that the Dickens Victorian Village existed. What an interesting place. Your pictures are amazing! I will have to check this place out when I am in Ohio. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • The statues are only on display during the Christmas season and after dark there is a beautiful Christmas light show with music. Also the local theater group performs a delightful Dickens play. I hope you will be able to see it.

      • Since I am very fond of Dickens, going to Ohio to see the Village and enjoy a play of his works, would be such a treat. I will keep this in my hat for a future adventure. Thanks again for sharing. 🙂

  6. What a talented lady you are, Francine! Nice video. Thanks for sharing that. I had no idea this display existed.

    • Thank you Anneli, Your comment is very kind and encouraging. I appreciate your words. I am glad you were able to see this place through the lens of my camera.

      BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

      ________________________________

  7. You are an inspiration….your blog makes me think and smile. Have nominated you for the very inspiring blogger award – have a read!

    http://appetiteforlifeblog.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  8. Thank you so much for introducing the Dickens Victorian Village! Great photos, Francine!

  9. Dickens! Very timely as well since it’s his 100th birthday celebration or something of the sort. Nice!

  10. thanks francine, it is always good to remember how we used to live, helps our perspective on life today 🙂

  11. I’m a great fan of Dickens, Francine. I’d love to visit this place. 😉

  12. How fun! I’m a huge Dickens fan.


Leave a Reply

