Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

AMISH BUGGY RIDE

Today I went to the Amish country in Sugarcreek, Ohio where I experienced my first Amish buggy ride.   The ride was along a gravel path on the side of a local Amish  farm.  Our driver was one of the elderly members of the farm.  The buggy we rode in held four adults including the driver and the drivers young granddaughter.  These particular buggies could hold up to six people. 

I have just arrived back home but wanted to give you a little sample of my adventurous day in the country.  A fuller report with more details will be given tomorrow.  Hope you enjoy these few pictures. 

Given permission to photograph

I was given permission to photograph these Amish men.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

44 Responses to “AMISH BUGGY RIDE”

  1. What a cool experience and to get permission to photograph the men is wonderful. Way to go Francine. I enjoyed riding along with you!

    • Thanks Ruth, glad to have you along. The members of this Amish family are a part of the New Order and they weren’t quite as strict as the Old Amish Order. There are so many orders and they are all different.

      ________________________________

  2. Another job well done! God bless you! 🙂

    Paulette

    • Thanks Paulette, Your comments always lift my spirits. I was away all day, so I will be catching up on others blog post tomorrow.

      BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

      ________________________________

  3. I guess it’s a way for them to make some money. Like it or not, money is part of our modern world.

    • They seem to have adapted well with little effect on their way of life. They are in the tourist business to provide meals to groups and sell their homemade products.

  4. i love these photos, a great outing francine, i look forward to more tomorrow!

  5. Again, wonderful pictures! I just purchased Amish butter and eggs today at a local Farmer’s Market near my home. The butter is the most delicious butter I have ever eaten, and the eggs are the freshest. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  6. They are amazing in this day of high tech and modernization…thanks for sharing the Amish. 🙂

  7. Lovely way to spend your day, Francine. I enjoyed your photos very much. 😉

  8. I dont pretend to understand, but I bet it was a great experience. and those buggies are fantastic. 😉

  9. I would Love to take an buggie ride . In fact I would Love to spend a day on a amish farm…Thanks Francine for this wonderful article.. Blessings.. Bro Pat.

  10. I just bought new end tables from Amish craftsmen. They are extraordinary!!

  11. What an enjoyable day! I’ve never experience the Amish buggy ride, I love Amish crafts and quilts!

  12. Even if I have a hard time understand their rigid belief system, I do admire the fact that the Amish people live their lives without destroying mother earth with pollution or by other negative effects from modern society.

  13. Not far from you, Francine? Interesting, I imagine.

  14. What a treat! You must have done something special … these people opened their hearts and lives to you.

    • They are a very friendly people who open their homes and farms to anyone who visits. Of course, it is a business to them. The men are in charge and will answer any question you may have.

  15. […] https://francineinretirement.wordpress.com/2012/07/25/amish-buggy-ride/ – Another retiree, who tackles all kinds of topics, challenges, and places. This may be the only blogging award she doesn’t already have! […]

  16. Just wanted to let you know I have nominated you for the Inspiring Blog Award! To see more about the award and this nomination, please visit my post at http://wp.me/p2ekZU-xl.
    I hope this will be welcome news for you. If you prefer not to accept the award, I certainly understand, but I hope you will visit the other nominees, and they will visit you, just the same. All the best!

  17. There is an AMish community near where I was staying in Michigan. What an experience that must’ve been, going for a buggy ride. 🙂

  18. Sounds amazing! Thanks for taking us along on the ride Francine 🙂

  19. […] Amish Buggy Ride (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailPrintPinterestStumbleUponDiggRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]


Leave a Reply

