Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

AMISH ONE ROOM SCHOOLHOUSE

While visiting an Amish farm and experiencing my first Amish buggy ride, I noticed a one room school house located on the farm a short distance away from the home.  It was not part of our tour package to enter, but I was able to capture these photos.

AMISH EDUCATION

The Amish believe that the one room schools, best served the educational needs of their people; the basic education in the “Three R’s.” Their schools do not have electricity or automatic running water.

 The children go to school until the 8th grade. The teachers are generally single Amish women who are chosen by a local school board of parents for their academic ability and commitment to religious values and Amish views. With the practical training that the children receive at home and in school, they are equipped to accept full-time jobs by the time they leave school.

Therefore, after formal schooling is completed, Amish children typically receive some vocational schooling, or “education by doing,” once a week. They learn about the operation and techniques of farming, or the trade of their father. Boys start helping out with plowing and other related jobs at an early age, and girls work with their mother and sisters. 

Related Articles:  Click on below link for more information.

Amish Landscape  

Amish Buggy Ride   

Amish Tradition and Home   

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

13 Responses to “AMISH ONE ROOM SCHOOLHOUSE”

  1. Hello my new friend,

    I am happy to have found your blog and am gladly following. I think you have done a good job with your blog, so well done! 🙂

    Here I would like to thank you for following my blog. I hope my blog is not disappointing and that you will continue enjoying my blog in each of your visits.

    So thank you again, and lovely day to you! 🙂

    Subhan Zein

  2. So even if they wanted to pursue a higher education they can’t? I can’t help thinking of lost opportunities.

    • No they feel the education they get is enough for their way of living. The boys will learn a trade such as wood crafting and of course farming, while the girls working in the home and quilting, sewing and gardening. All of which provides them with a good living by their standards. They do have some who leave but they have to wait until the age of 21 to do so. If they do they are shunned and may never be welcome back.

  3. I don’t suppose they feel the loss raised in this environment, though they must have the odd rebellious spirit?

    • Some do leave the order to pursue higher education but have to wait until 21 to do so. There is some rebellion in the form of drinking but this is usually held to a minimum.

  4. Very nice pic! Thanks for the great commentary! God bless!

    Paulette

  5. Francine, I’ve been reading your Amish series with great interest. Thank you for sharing with us.

    • I am so glad you have enjoyed them. The Amish were of interest to me and I thought others may find them interesting as well. Thanks for your comment.

      BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  6. Enjoying the series Francine! I have always been fascinated by what little I knew of the Amish!

  7. […] Amish One Room Schoolhouse (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

