Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

RED TELEPHONE BOX

I am enjoying the 2012 Summer Olympics that are being held in London.  It is encouraging to see countries from all over the world coming together in unity for the games.  

One of the iconic images that keep popping up in the background of my television screen is the red telephone booth that I have always associated with Great Britain.  

You can imagine my surprise when I spotted one in the fields of Laurel Highlands in Pennsylvania while on a tour of the countryside.  There it stood like a red statue gracing the land in front of the Hagan ice cream and gift shop.  

Further investigation revealed that when I.N. Hagan, owner of Kentuck Knob ( a Frank Lloyd Wright home) fell ill he sold the home  in 1986 to Lord Palumbo of London, England who has continued to maintain the beauty and tradition of the I.N. Hagan House.  No wonder we see the Red Telephone Box on the property.

“I keep the telephone of my mind open to peace, harmony, health, love and abundance.  Then, whenever doubt, anxiety or fear try to call me, they keep getting a busy signal – and soon they’ll forget my number.”  ~Edith Armstrong

 

The red telephone box, a telephone kiosk for a public telephone designed by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott, is a familiar sight on the streets of the United KingdomMaltaBermuda and Gibraltar, and despite a reduction in their numbers in recent years, red boxes can still be seen in many places and in current or former British colonies around the world. The colour red was chosen to make them easy to spot. (Wikipedia)

Think you may want one to display in your home or in your yard, you can.  These red telephone boxes can be purchased for $1199.99 on the internet. Any Takers?  I bet not.  The cell phone rules the plant now!

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

39 Responses to “RED TELEPHONE BOX”

  1. Would love a red telephone box for the yard. What a conversation piece that would be! Alas, the price is a tad high.

    Great post

  2. You don’t see many phone booths of any kind anymore!

  3. Lovely telephone booth. Today, one is hard pressed to even find a public telephone. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. Will look pretty amazing in garden. Near a water source a beautiful reflection. But its price is quite demotivating.
    Else everyone will enjoy planting it.

  5. Love that red telephone box! Cheery.

  6. Unfortunately, Francine, their days are numbered, just as our own phone booths have all but disappeared. Great photos, though. 🙂

  7. Glad you’re enjoying the Games. I keep track (ha! ha!) on an evening if I can. Love the Armstrong quote, Francine. Where do you find them?
    I’m wondering if it would enhance our garden, but I think maybe not.

    • I have a number of books on illustrations and quotes you can use in speeches and writings. This one came, I think, from Illustrations Unlimited, James S. Hewett, Editor. Thanks for asking.

  8. I can’t remember the last time I saw one that wasn’t a garden decoration!

  9. Lovely photo, Francine. This telephone box looks in such pristine condition, unlike most of the ones in England. 😉 Love that Edith Armstrong quote. She sounds like a very spiritual lady.

  10. Great picture. So lonesome, red and proud…

    Shakti

  11. These red telephone boxes can be purchased for $1199.99 on the internet. Any Takers? I bet not.
    frizz: there are takers / buyers: In Germany it is cult to have this as a sign in the yard: I’ve often seen them – even in my poor hometown …

  12. They are beautiful aren’t they?!

  13. That’s a cool find and it would turn my head. Don’t feel the need to buy one though. Nice photos!

  14. I love red phone boxes. I’ve seen them for sale and they are very pricey but this one looks gorgeous there in the gardens. Glad to seem them saved. Wonderful photos!

  15. Hey give it back, we are running short of them.. heehee! lovely post and to see a little piece of good ole’ England..

  16. fascinating post, love your shiny red telephone box …. we had a red telephone booth money box once!

  17. Oh that would make me home sick!

  18. Loved your post. The lighting and coloring of the photo are perfect. I am very sad about the disappearance of the red phone booths as they were one of the things that made me smile on my trips to the UK. I didn’t realize there was another Wright home in PA. Have you been to Falling Waters?

  19. So very English, right in the heart of the USA. Love it!

  20. Oh, wow. A red telephone booth in America. Exciting and rich history. I am also fascinated with this red booth. Thanks.

  21. I am chuckling thinking of a red telephone box sitting on the front lawn of our apartment building 🙂


Leave a Reply

