Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER “I”

IRON WORKERS STATUE

AT

ROCKEFELLER CENTER

I was in New York City in June and like most tourist my daughter and I headed over to Times Square to experience the lights, crowds and the entertainment the area is noted for.  We walked up and downs the streets taking in the excitement and sounds of a city that never sleeps.

All of a sudden I spotted out of the corner of my eye, peeking through the tree branches, men sitting on a cross beam.  What was this?  On closer inspection I saw it was a statue depicting eleven iron workers having lunch atop a skyscraper being built in New York City back in 1932.  What an unexpected but amazing sight to see in the middle of the night on a corner in Times Square.  Later I was told the statues sits on a truck that is frequently moved from place to place around the City. 

It’s Tuesday and Frizztext at Flicker Comments.com has once again given us our Story Challenge: Letter I assignment.  Check out other entries under his link above.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

17 Responses to “STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER “I””

  1. This is fantastic – What a great idea to move it around!

  2. thank you for your IRON WORKERS!

  3. Great idea to have travelling sculptures. 🙂 It’s great that these workers have been immortalised in such a beautiful way, Francine. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. I had seen a documentary of the buidling of the Brooklyn Bridge. In it there were these iron workers walking on these narrow beams while others had lunch. these were hard working men. Thanks for posting these photos. I had never seen the statue. It makes me proud of my Brooklyn upbringing.

  5. A great tribute to the men who built the skylines across America. Great photos, Francine.

  6. These are perfect for the challenge Francine. Enjoyed seeing them again 🙂 I have not yet posted my H!

  7. Oh wow, such lovely I photos – perfect indeed for the story challenge this week. We were in Times Square around 2nd week of June this year and we didn’t get to see these. Too bad!

  8. Those iron workers, I saw the old films just recently of the men building the Empire State, those workers were incredibile ,sitting like that and walking along and eating lunch. I got nervous just looking at the films,very brave people.

    Thanks Francine didnt know about the sculptures,

    Blessings
    Ron.

  9. Hello Francine…I just wanted to personally thank you for being an inspiration to me and my blogging aspirations! With that said, I wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award! You can check out the details on my blog at http://faith1stministries.wordpress.com . CONGRATULATIONS!!

  10. They are remarkable. Am I imagining it that I have seen the actual group in a photograph?

  11. that sculpture is WAY cool! I am giving you an award—be encouraged and blessed by it! http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/addictive-blog-award/

  12. A great share thanks Francine, I love the tribute to the iron workers,

  13. […] https://francineinretirement.wordpress.com/2012/08/28/story-challenge-letter-i/ Share this:TwitterFacebookMoreEmailPrintDiggLinkedInStumbleUponRedditTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  14. Charles Ebbets certainly made such an indelible impression with his photos of iron wirkers building 30 Rock. They’re some of the most inspirational photography the world has ever seen, quintessential NTC and tremendously gutsy. He walked the steel with those workers in order to make those shots. That was long before the days of OSHA and peak workplace safety standards.


Leave a Reply

