Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

GRAND CANYON ADVENTURE

Come with me on my great adventure to what is considered one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World, The Grand Canyon.  I traveled in a van with three others passengers (one from Thailand and two young men on a business trip from Japan) up 7,000+  feet of mountain road to the Grand Canyon National Park entrance.

The drive was spectacular as we drove higher and higher up the mountain with an occasional burst of clouds and rain that would change the atmosphere and cool down the temperature.  Then upon our arrival at the entrance to the park, we were greeted by a glorious burst of sunshine.  Our tour guide told us a little of the history of the canyon and left us to embrace the wonder of the canyon view in silence.

The Grand Canyon is a steep-sided canyon carved by the Colorado River in the United States in the state of Arizona.

The Grand Canyon is 277 miles (446 km) long, up to 18 miles (29 km) wide and attains a depth of over a mile (6,000 feet / 1,800 metres).  Nearly two billion years of the Earth‘s geological history have been exposed as the Colorado River and its tributaries cut their channels through layer after layer of rock while the Colorado Plateau was uplifted.

For thousands of years, the area has been continuously inhabited by Native Americans who built settlements within the canyon and its many caves. The Pueblo people considered the Grand Canyon (“Ongtupqa” in Hopi language) a holy site and made pilgrimages to it.

I also was able to see the Hopi House which is located on the South Rim of the Grand Canyon, within Grand Canyon National Park. Built in 1905 as concessioner facilities at the South Rim , it is the first of eight projects at the Grand Canyon that were designed by architect Mary Colter, along with , Desert View Watchtower, that we will view later.  Hopi House was built by the Fred Harvey Company as a market for Native American crafts, made by artisans on the site. The Hopi, as the historic inhabitants of the area, were chosen as the featured artisans, and the building was designed to closely resemble a traditional Hopi pueblo. Hopi House opened on January 1, 1905, just before the El Tovar Hotel, located just to the west, was opened.

Colter planned Hopi House as a sort of living museum, in which Hopi Indians could live while making and selling traditional crafts. The structure was based on Colter’s interpretation of the Hopi dwelling at Oraibi, Arizona. The ethnohistorically-correct structure was at the time of its construction the first introduction for many park visitors to the architecture and life of the native peoples of Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and Colorado.  A variety of interior spaces provide museum, sales and demonstration space.

I found the views of the Grand Canyon, as seen through the lens of my camera, the most beautiful and awe-inspiring site I have ever seen in America.  It truly takes your breath away.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

16 Responses to “GRAND CANYON ADVENTURE”

  1. Ah, such a lovely place. I went once, but I was only one. Needless to say, I don’t remember a thing. I want to go back someday. I would love to, when I have the time, to see all the wonderful parts of the US. Maybe once I finish all of the countries I can concentrate on the US again. I’ve only traveled to half of the states, but I feel lucky that I’ve been able to see that much. Thanks for sharing Francine!

  2. Beautiful photos of such an awe-inspiring place, Francine. It’s no wonder why the Native Americans saw it as hallowed ground. Thank you for taking us along.

  3. My first view of the Grand Canyon brought me to tears. It is magnificent.

  4. Fabulous video, Francine. I enjoyed my ringside seat. Didn’t have to move a muscle.

  5. My daughter-in-law is Hopi, and her mother not only worked for the Grand Canyon but she lives there.

  6. Good gosh, Francine — maybe we passed each other since I was there over Labor Day weekend. (You liked my Free Spirt cloud photo, thanks! I took the photo on the plane on the way back from the Canyon.) I’m trying to get my blog entries written. The time spent there will change me forever. There are no words adequate to the experience.

    • Oh my! Yes Mad Queen, I was there from Thursday to Sunday. I am still sorting through my photos as well. I am so glad I was able to experience the many and wonderful things I saw. It was truly a once in a lifetime experience. I will be looking forward to seeing your posts.

      BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  7. Magnificent Francine, thanks so much I’ll probably never get to go!

  8. Breathtaking! Thank you for the virtual tour, Francine! I visited there many years ago, don’t know when I’ll revisit again…

  9. OK, in reading your posts, I am vowed to get in my little car & take the drive north soon, very soon. THANK YOU.

  10. Spectacular! Images that takes your breath away. Perhaps one day, I get to see these beautiful Nature Art in person. Thanks.

    • I hope you do. I’m working now on my post for the weekly image of life. Since my trip I’m a little behind in posts and replying to comments. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!


Leave a Reply

