Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER “L”

LASER LIGHT

TEETH WHITENING KIOSK

On my recent trip to the mall I couldn’t believe my eyes. There it was in the middle of a busy mall, a man setting in a reclining chair with a laser light bar attached to his mouth for a teeth whitening procedure.  I had to do a double take because it was the weirdest looking sight I had seen in the mall in a long time.  I was a distance away and at first I wasn’t sure what I was seeing.

As a curious consumer, and someone who likes to gather information on the photos I take, I wanted to know how much the teeth whitening procedure costs. I found out it ranges from $50 to $99 and it’s guaranteed to whiten your teeth 4 shades lighter.

If you think these procedures are being done by dentists, think again.  These kiosks are generally franchise owned, so they are not administered by dental professionals. They are not dentists, RDHs or RDAs, rather workers “dressed up” in medical garments to give people a false sense they are being treated by a dental professional. For $1000 you can buy a franchise, with equipment, and be ready to set up in a couple of days.  

Is it safe?  I suggest doing some research before giving in to the convenience.  I have found out that some kiosk’s have been banned from malls in other states.

Technology has moved so fast in my lifetime that I can only imagine what it will be like when my youngest grandchildren are young adults.  Brushing with tooth bushes to laser treatments, what is next?  I wonder.

Want to see other entries to this challenge?  Check out FrizzText at Story Challenge: Letter “L”.  You will enjoy your visit.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

36 Responses to “STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER “L””

  1. totally bizarre! and in a mall???

  2. I also saw this in one of your malls. Very weird indeed. This isn’t something I would have done in the public eye. Great capture, Francine. 🙂

  3. Great post, Francine. My goodness, I wouldn’t trust that at all.
    I remember when, as a child, SHOE STORES WERE TAKING XRAYS OF PEOPLE’S FEET! Just because someone is ‘doing it’ doesn’t mean it is safe!

  4. That’s a great photo for this challenge! Wow! You would never find me in that chair! 🙂

    Paulette

  5. Reminds me of the story my mom used to tell of being left to play with the foot x-ray machine in the shoe department. X-ray machines were used to see if your shoes fit correctly. They were there for the public and mom liked to look at how the bones in her feet moved when she wiggled her toes.

  6. I’m not sure I would be willing to put my teeth through this. I want them with me for years to come. Some people are pretty trusting or they really want white teeth.

  7. Looks and seems a little scary. 🙂 ..Great picture!

  8. I remember playing with the shoe x-ray machine and wondering now, all these years later, whether it was safe. No way I would do that now, and definitely not the laser on the teeth treatment. I didn’t even know they did that! Thanks for enlightening our minds about the lightening of the teeth, Francine!

  9. Wow. I’ve never heard of this before.

  10. I would certainly worry about safety. Great photo.

  11. Incredible! He must be preparing for a romantic date 😆

  12. Oh wow, a lot to think about here. That is indeed a scary thought – having your teeth tinkered with by paraprofessionals.

  13. That is insane! I’ve never seen anything like it — could be because I do not frequent malls. 🙂 Great capture, Francine.
    God Bless You!

  14. This looks like something out of a sci-fi movie! Not something I would expect to see at a mall. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  15. I can’t imagine having something like this done in full view of any and everyone.

  16. Looks painful. As for safety…I will only trust a dentist. Plus…a mall is a place to shop not for dental hygiene. Oh, well times do change. Great post!

  17. I would be afraid to use this laser light procedure – though I could need it

  18. What a great shot! This looks like a scene from some sci-fi thriller, Francine.

  19. Whoa! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a totally different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Wonderful choice of colors!


Leave a Reply

