Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

ORANGUTAN ANYONE?

OLIVER  THE  ORANGUTAN

I follow the challenges of a few amazing and inspiring bloggers who offer inspiring themes to focus on.  There are not many occasions where I find two challenges that compliment each other.  Until now.

Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Animals and FrizzText Story Challenge: Letter “O” fall into that category.  So I have chosen to include them both in this post.  Double the pleasure, double the fun in one post for everyone.

Click on image to see a large slideshow presentation.  ENJOY!

My subject is the Orangutan.  I call him Oliver.  It had been years since I visited the Pittsburgh Zoo and PPG Aquarian here in Pittsburgh.  It was there I met Oliver, a sweet and loving orangutan.  He captured my eye with his wide brown eyes and loving treatment of his mate, I call her Olivia.

I even thought he saw me with my camera and made a quick decision to pose for me.  I believe his eyes were telling me “Ok, go ahead and take my picture, it doesn’t matter to me.”  “Just spell my name right.”  It was one of my most enjoyable day at the zoo, on my own, with no children in tow.

“But now ask the beasts, and let them teach you; And the birds of the heavens, and let them tell you.”

Job 12:7

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

24 Responses to “ORANGUTAN ANYONE?”

  1. He is lovely. Such a human expression in his eyes…

  2. G’day Francine cute photos, such sad eyes in the big photo. Do you have an “about” page hidden some where on your blog?

    • Thank you for your comment. I did write some information about me when I first set up account not sure how to make it into an about page. Thanks for asking. I will now work at making it visible. Will need help because I am not geek when it comes to computers.
      BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. Such fascinating animals and your photos are captivating, Francine.

  4. O.K., thanks for calling your Orang-Utans Olivia and Oliver!

  5. He has such a sweet face.

  6. I often feel sorry for animals who have to live in a zoo, but they’re probably safer there.

    • I have found that the animals in the Pittsburgh Zoo are very well cared for and they try to provide a place that is as close to their natural habitat as possible. I was impressed!

  7. What an expressive face he has, Francine. Great photos. 🙂

  8. What an interesting creature – very nice post, Francine!

  9. […] Orangutan Anyone? (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]

  10. how dearly they are, 🙂

  11. I love the expression on his face in the second last one.

  12. Oliver looks gorgeous indeed. And I agree with the others when they noted his human expression. Lovely photographs, Francine, as always.


Leave a Reply

