Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER “P”

PADDLE WHEEL

A paddle wheel is a wheel with boards around it for propelling a steamboat.  

Living in a city with Three Rivers,  Allegheny, Monongahela and The Ohio, you are bound to see many types of boats cruising on our rivers.

The Gateway Clipper Fleet with its five ships have been part of my life here in Pittsburgh since I was a kid taking my first boat ride on the Good Ship Lollipop.

The Princess is the only paddle wheel boat in the Gateway Clipper Fleet.  It has the floor to ceiling windows that allows her passengers to have a superb view of Pittsburgh’s beautiful skyline.

This past weekend I had the pleasure of boarding another paddle wheel boat, The Island Belle.   Boarding in Parkersburg, WV, we cruised on the Ohio River over to The Blennerhassett Island to view the mansion by candlelight and participate in many other activities.

Cruising on a paddle wheel boat is a wonderful experience.  The ride is smooth and the view from their open upper decks are spectacular.

See other entries for challenge at Story Challenge: Letter “P”.

Related article:  Blennerhassett Mansion by Candlelight.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

19 Responses to “STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER “P””

  1. looks like an awesome trip.

  2. how great and nostalgic for this mississippi gal! i once was a speaker on the american queen each fall for their b&b theme cruises. thanks for the great post and for transporting me back to the river!
    z

  3. I love seeing these types of boats!

  4. to play my guitar on a paddle wheel boat – a dream forever …

  5. Fabulous boats- I love the look of paddle wheels.

  6. How wonderful to live in a city with Three Rivers. Thank you for sharing your fun boat ride!

  7. wow, i’m sure it’s a wonderful experience.. are they still using it for regular transport or just for tourist and/or sightseeing? its nice that the paddleboats are still in their very good condition..

  8. NIce perspective on the Paddle Wheel. Looks like a wonderful time,
    Thanks for sharing your trip on the river.

  9. […] trend on WordPress and of late Story Challenge from FRIZZTEXT caught my attention and inspired by fgasette so I joined […]

    • I am humbled and honored that my post inspired you to join the challenge. I like the challenges because they help me to post my photos with a message. BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  10. How lovely it must bee to cruise down the river on one of these boats, Francine. Thanks for sharing your photos. 🙂

  11. Fun post … I had been on a paddle boat while on vacation in Missouri. I enoyed it very much. You photo’s showcase them well.


Leave a Reply

