Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

TRAVEL THEME: SPOOKY

SPOOKY: weird: eerie, easily frightened: nervous, jumpy

 

The Trumpets

6 Then the seven angels who had the seven trumpets prepared to sound them. 7 The first angel sounded his trumpet, and there came hail and fire mixed with blood, and it was hurled down upon the earth. A third of the earth was burned up, a third of the trees were burned up, and all the green grass was burned up.

Revelations 8: 6-7

Yesterday while traveling on some back roads in Bedford, Pennsylvania in search of covered bridges we came upon this eerie scene (to me) of a brush fire sweeping across a small area leading down to a creek.  I thought the scene would fit the challenge for this week.  Was I right?

Clink onto Ailsa;s Where’s my backpack?  Travel Theme: Spooky to view other entries.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

26 Responses to “TRAVEL THEME: SPOOKY”

  1. The smoke definitely adds to the spooky feeling. You captured the scene and caught the mood. Did you find the covered bridges too?
    BOO!

  2. Was it a wild fire or a controlled burn?

  3. I love how you set this out Francine .
    The top one made me think of unseenlittlefolk carrying fire aloft for some celebration …
    Apart from that 🙂 very glad the fire actually couldn’t go any further !

  4. Yes its spooky! is the dark image created from the one below? I will look forward to seeing the bridges 🙂

    • No. I had the camera set wrong when this picture was taken. I corrected the setting but still liked the look of the dark one so I included it in post. Thanks for asking.

      ________________________________

  5. Spooky, indeed! Even though controlled, seeing a fire like this is unnerving.

    • Everyone on the van did get a little nervous at first. Then we saw a man controlling the flames. I didn’t put him in the picture. He was a little bit back in the woods.(smile)

  6. I always find fire somewhat spooky. Great pics, Francine. It’s not easy to capture smoke and flames, but you did a great job. 🙂

  7. The first image does it very well all by itself

  8. The first photo that is dark, make you think it has to do with a meeting of darkness (ritual) and fire was used to dance around. Spooky for sure. The others were like feeling trapped during a fire storm 🙂 Thanks for sharing ;_

  9. […] Travel Theme: Spooky (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]

  10. HOnestly, Book of Revelation scares me but looking around the signs to the times and it’s similarities, that even scare me more. MOving images that truly depicts the fear in our hearts during the times of “fire and storms ” in our lives.

  11. These are the type of pictures that my husband lose sleep over. He’s a firefighter.

  12. A wild fire would have been spookier than you bargained for 🙂 Cool shots!

  13. Francine…you had me going there for a while. Glad it was controlled. Great images

  14. Fire is very eerie to me. I suppose it’s from my childhood when the nuns would speak of the fires of hell. I like the photo’s but they are spooky.
    blessings ….


Leave a Reply

