Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER “R”

RAILROAD TRACKS

“Tracks of Time”

We walked along the tracks of time
The missing ties torn from the line
And dreamed of long ago
When life depended on the stop

With whistle blowing and hissing steam
Passengers hurry to their seats
Destinations known and unknown
Riding coach or cattle car

Walking on now just a trail
Our feet remembered iron rail
And how our world has changed and yet
The romance of the railroads scent

Instilled within our very souls
Inherited stories now are told
“Remember when we road the train”.
What a ride it was back then

Lest we forget our roots of travel
As time unravels new inventions
The train will always be nostalgic
I here it calling me, “Come ride”.

C. L. Craven

Want to see what others have come up with for this challenge? Click here.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

18 Responses to “STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER “R””

  1. Thought provoking. How I love the sound of a train whistle in the night.

    • I love the sound as well. Believe it or not, sometimes I hear one up on my hill and I can’t figure out where it is coming from. The train tracks are so far from my house.

  2. I used to put pennies on the tracks and then wait in the ditch for the locomotive to roll past – what treasure!

  3. What an unusual reply to the challenge, Francine, and what a good one!

  4. Thanks for the like on my blog. I am now following yours! I would appreciate if you would follow mine as well and I always appreciate any comments or likes given. Thanks again! Blake

  5. thanks for your RAILROAD TRACKS!

  6. I love hearing the sound of a train whistle.

  7. Wonderful choice for this week challenge. Mine co-insides with yours. Thank you for sharing and the writing that went with each photo. 🙂

  8. Beautiful!!!! Pictures and words…I Love it…!

  9. GREAT entry – railroad … perfect.
    blessings

  10. Superb shots! And a wonderful poem to accompany it!


Leave a Reply

