Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

CEE’S FUN FOTO CHALLENGE: ORANGE

ORANGE FLOWERS

HOW THE COLOR ORANGE AFFECTS US PHYSICALLY

  • Stimulates activity
  • Stimulates appetite
  • Encourages socialization

ORANGE AROUND THE GLOBE

  • American Indians associate the color orange with kinship.
  • Orange is the Netherlands’ national color, dating back to the Dutch War of Independence and the rebel Prince of Orange.
  • In Ireland, the use of orange dates from the reign of William of Orange, the Protestant English king and a Dutch stadholder.
  • In China and Japan, orange is used to symbolize happiness and love.
  • Orange County, California
  • Orange, CA
  • Orange, NJ

RELIGIOUS & MYTHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATIONS WITH ORANGE

  • Orange is representative of “gluttony” in Christianity.

POLITICAL ASSOCIATIONS WITH ORANGE

  • Orange is the national color of the Netherlands because its royal family owns the principality of Orange.
  • In Ireland, the use of orange dates from the reign of William of Orange, the Protestant English king and a Dutch stadholder.

“Go Confidently in the direction of your dreams, live the life you have imagined.”

Henry David Thoreau 

Want to see what other bloggers entered in this challenge?  Click here.

BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

31 Responses to “CEE’S FUN FOTO CHALLENGE: ORANGE”

  1. You captured oranges beautifully. I am stimulated visually and hope for good dreams all aglow.

  2. When you dream bright orange, it means perseverance. I love the orange photos, Francine.
    God Bless You!

  3. Beautiful and interesting, gluttony in Christianity, intriguing!

  4. My favorite color! Beautiful photos!

  5. love your photos.. orange is my favorite color! and thanks for the bits of info about orange, very informative..

  6. Beautiful orange photos, Francine and beautiful quote…
    🙂

  7. So nice to see flowers like these, especially the tulips. It seems like Spring is so far away but, in reality, it will be here in the blink of an eye.

  8. I grew up in Orange County California. It was a wonderful place!

  9. Thanks for adding to what all Orange means and symbolizes. Love your photos!!!! Thanks so much for playing along I truly appreciate it.

  10. Excellent – pretty orange flowers and good information too. Thanks 🙂

  11. Love those bright photos!!!

  12. OOps *gluttony* I must have been wearing Orange today when I had a LARGE slice of cake 😮
    A Bright and Cheery Orange Post Francine !

  13. orange flowers are rare this time of year great to see some

  14. Beautiful flowers and pictures, as always. BTW, Fran, I wonder how many photographers blew up their cameras snapping shots of those god-awful, repulsive Pittsburgh Steelers uniforms at the last game. I almost hurled my lunch. They looked like prison inmates from some creepy planet that hasn’t even been named yet. I was thinking about making them my new favorite team now that the Dallas Cows have ripped my heart out. Again. I’m back to looking to adopt Green Bay even with their wild and crazy cheese heads. I think I’d look ludicrous with cheese on my head though. Just thinking out loud here. Be blessed. You’re the best. (I hate the god-awful city of Houston and just can’t get Texans fever.)

    • I know. I really hate those uniforms. They look like bad bumble bees. Thankfully they will not be wearing them again. Everyone in Pittsburgh hates them. They are called their throw back uniforms, we call them throw up uniforms. (smile)

  15. I love flowers. I think this entry showcased all of the flowers so well. They all look happy.
    blessings ….

  16. […] Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Orange (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]

  17. I love orange and these are some gorgeous representations! Thank you Francine.

  18. Beautiful post my friend for Cee`s challenge 🙂

  19. Really enjoyed reading all the information about the colour orange! Lovely photos too


Leave a Reply

