Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

CLINTON IN PITTSBURGH ON ELECTION EVE

Former President Bill Clinton led an 11th hour get-out-the-vote rally, under gray, cold skies and gave Pittsburghers one last sales pitch Monday at a rally in Market Square to tell why they should vote to re-elect President Obama.

“To me this election is fairly simple,” Clinton told a crowd that filled the middle of the square on a chilly morning. “Who’s more likely to restore the middle class and give poor folks a chance to work their way into it?”

 His voice betraying the toll of his heavy campaign schedule, Mr. Clinton told the crowd,   “I think it’s the candidate who got off the campaign trail and went to work on Hurricane Sandy with Republicans,” Clinton said, referring to New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie, who praised Obama’s response to the disaster.

In his new role as surrogate-in-chief, Mr. Clinton was barnstorming the state, heading to a list of Eastern Pennsylvania stops after the Downtown event.

In the slideshow below are the photos I took of the event as seen through the eyes of my camera.  ENJOY!

Clinton Comes to Pittsburgh Part One – The crowd was entertained by Joe Grusgecky, the rock guitarist who had appeared with Bruce Springsteen at an Oakland concert/rally last weekend, before the President arrived.

Clinton Comes to Pittsburgh Part Two – The many expressions of Mr. Clinton.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

33 Responses to “CLINTON IN PITTSBURGH ON ELECTION EVE”

  1. Francine, so impressive—————what a talented eye you have.

  2. Go Francine! Well done. Hope he gets out the vote!!

  3. His hair is totally white now but he still has enough energy to run circles around anyone.

    He was an amazing President, and his exercise of foreign policy actually helped my country.

  4. Francine, your shots belong in the political sections of Time Magazine.

  5. Bill Clinton is one of those men who look better and better as they age. I have always agreed with him, I voted for him, and I have voted for Obama already. Now I keep my fingers crossed.
    Your pictures are indeed very good.Thank you Francine.

  6. Francine, get ready to go to Washington D.C. and do a reportage for us on Obama’s swearing in ceremony in Jan. 2013. I am looking forward to it.

  7. Clinton gives so much to support President Obama! I voted a week ago! Thanks for the post, Francine!

  8. I would love to see him in person. 🙂 Good job, Bill.

  9. Great pictures! He is an exciting man to see. He is my husband’s all time favorite person.

    • Yes he is amazing. When I heard he was coming yesterday, I just couldn’t pass up the chance to see him in person. I thought it was a once in a lifetime experience.

      ________________________________

  10. Great captures!

  11. No rock stars when Pres Clinton headlined a Get Out the Vote Rally in Indpls a few weeks ago, but that’s OK. Pres. Clinton is a rock star himself! His speech was the most succinct, well-thought out argument for Pres Obama’s 2nd term that I’ve heard. Not sure why Obama didnt have Clinton head his campaign.

    I’ll be at the polls in about 8 hours. So nervous, I may not be able to stay away from the news stations all day, even though the results won’t be in until the evening. Sadly, they can probably already call my state for Romney, but we dont have a significant EC vote for it to matter.

  12. The Man is a real force to be reckoned with. I hope he was successful.

  13. Met him once in Copenhagen, I like him… 🙂

  14. How cool! Happy voting day. I’m curious to see how this turns out since it’s so tight.

  15. You did a wonderful job with the video. I agree that your photos could be placed in a political magazine! 🙂 Have a blessed day!

    Paulette

    • Thanks Paulette, I believe in the right to vote, but I’m really not the political type. Couldn’t pass up the chance to see Mr. Clinton though. My camera led me on. (smile)

      ________________________________

  16. Still a charmer isn’t he? Great shots Francine!

  17. Wow, you got some great photos. It seems that you were close to him?

    • I was. I arrived at the location of the rally two hours before the site opened and was in the front row, right in direct line with President Clinton, who looked directly into my camera at times. I also stood with some new people I had the privilege to get to meet while standing in line. While in line, we were fed hoagies and something to drink free of charge.

      ________________________________

  18. Lucky you!! My husband admires him a lot! Even tonight he talked about him 🙂

    • He was a very gracious man to take time to speak with everyone he came in contact with and even reaching into the crowd to shake hands with others.

      ________________________________


Leave a Reply

