Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER “U” – LETTER “V”

I was down last week due to computer maintenance and upgrades.  I missed a lot of my favorite challenges,  so this week I will be doubling up when I can.  Below are my entries for Story Challenge: Letter “U” and Letter “V”.  To see more of FrizzText’s wonderful challenges please click on the link here.

UNIQUENESS

ADMIRE THEIR UNIQUENESS

Once a wise teacher was speaking to a group of eager young students.  He gave them the assignment to go out and find a small, unnoticed flower somewhere.  He asked them to study the flower for a long time.  “Get a magnifying glass and study the delicate veins in the leaves, and notice the nuances and shades of color.  Turn the leaves slowly and observe their symmetry.  And remember that this flower might have gone unnoticed and unappreciated if you had not found and admired it.”  After the class returned, the teacher observed, “People are like that.  Each one is different, carefully crafted, uniquely endowed.  But you have to spend time with them to know this.  So many people go unnoticed and unappreciated because no one has ever taken time with them and admired their uniqueness.”  John Powell

If you are reading this, know that I appreciate your uniqueness and will take time to get to know you more through your blog posts.

“If I try to be like him,

Who will be like me?”

Russian proverb

VALLEY VIEW

A few months ago I had the pleasure of touring three of Frank Lloyd Wright’s homes located in the Laurel Highlands of Pennsylvania.

Kentuck Knob was the second home we toured.  I didn’t realize it at first that the house sat on top of a mountain, until I ventured out on a walk through the grounds that led me to this wonderful view of the valley below and the mountains beyond.

I then thought how peaceful and beautiful the world around me was at that moment, and realized that you can have peace on the mountain top and peace in the valley.  It just depends on your prospective and view of your surroundings.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

9 Responses to “STORY CHALLENGE: LETTER “U” – LETTER “V””

  1. I really like the teacher’s definition, shame really people don’t appreciate nature’s delicate art these days.

  2. Perfect interpretation Francine. I appreciate your uniqueness too 🙂

  3. What a good lesson that teacher taught the kids.

  4. Unique entry….love it

  5. Imagine living where there is hardly any gap in the forest!

  6. Truly unique, Francine!
    🙂

  7. Great choices for Letter U and V! Lovely photos. I really love the Valley views. Thank you for sharing 😉

  8. your valley view could be in my neighborhood, 5 km distance!


Leave a Reply

