Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

WEEKLY IMAGE OF LIFE: HAPPY HOLIDAYS

SANTA STORIES FROM AROUND THE WORLD

CHILD AT CHRISTMAS

A few weeks ago I posted photos I took of an exhibit of life-size Santa’s from around the world displayed in The Wintergarden of PPG Place, found here.  The exhibit was entitled “Spirits of Giving.”

I thought that I would add the stories of the tradition of the Santa from each country for This Man’s Journey challenge by the Island Traveler.  You can find other happy holiday images of the challenge here.

Click on image to see a larger view in the gallery.  I hope you enjoy them!

The photos I took of the above paintings were featured alongside the life-size Santa’s with a book explaining their traditions.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

18 Responses to “WEEKLY IMAGE OF LIFE: HAPPY HOLIDAYS”

  1. Brilliantly festive post, Francine. Oh to have been in Poland when Star Man was about…

  2. My Daad told us of La Befana when we were very little. We would awake on the morning of the Epiphany to find a little treat or each of us. 🙂
    A great post, Francine.

  3. Lovely and informative Christmas post, Francine. I much prefer the old-fashioned versions of Christmas. 🙂

  4. So interesting Francine. You never think that the same story may be told differently in other countries.

  5. I truly felt the joys of the holidays in the post. Love the jolly Santas around the world and their stories. It brings out that little child in all of us. In the Philippines we are passionate about Christmas. December is like a month long holiday of merry making. Rich or poor, each one tries to capture the essence of Christmas which is giving, loving and just simply being happy. We would exchange gifts with family and friends, attend an early dawn mass a few weeks before Christmas, visit the Nativity scene called “Belen” on Christmas eve, have “Noche Buena” which is a family celebration of great food and fun activities. Happy Holidays my friend!

    • I am so glad you gave us your description of Christmas in the Philippines. When I posted this I was thinking of you and your family and how I didn’t have an example of your tradition. Thank you for sharing.

  6. I nominated you for the “Blog of the Year 2012” award. Please go to Teacher as Transformer at this link http://ivonprefontaine.com/2012/12/04/blog-of-the-year-2012/ for information. Congratulations!

  7. What a magical selection you have shown us all Francine ! I love all the different traditions for countries . I had not heard before of Father Christmas coming on a donkey here in England ! 🙂


Leave a Reply

