Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

CEE’S FUN FOTO CHALLENGE: EARTH

Last summer I flew from Pittsburgh to Phoenix, Arizona to see the Grand Canyon.  I had not flown in a plane since 911 so I booked a window seat so I could see and photograph everything there was to see. I was the typical tourist, happy, excited and camera visible around my neck.

As we approached our destination the plane lowered so we could see the earth below.  Living on the east coast and never being on the west coast before I did not know what I was seeing.  I kept zooming my lens in more and more and still could not figure out what I was seeing.  The landscape looked so different to me.  It really looked like those picture of the moon’s surface that you see on TV.  So I just clicked away and decided I’d wait until I downloaded my photos to figure it all out.

All I can say is I must have been so excited that I couldn’t believe what was right before my eyes.  The mountain ranges of the Grand Canyon from 6,000 to 8,000 feet in the air. Dah!  Below are a few of the pictures I took of the earth from way up high in the aircraft.

Was I suffering from the lack of oxygen or just giddy with excitement for my trip in process?  Does some of these pictures look like the moon’s surface to you? (smile)

(Click on smaller photos to see larger images)

IMG_2129CCC

I also want to take this opportunity to thank everyone for their well wishes.  I feel much better thanks to your thoughtful comments and prayers.  I hope to catch up on other challenges before the end of the week.  I think I have liked or commented on your posts that I missed while under the weather.  THANK YOU!

Visit Cee’s Photography to see other entries to this weeks challenge here.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

25 Responses to “CEE’S FUN FOTO CHALLENGE: EARTH”

  1. Wow! Awesome photos 🙂

  2. Nice shots. It’s not always easy to get good pictures through the plane window.

  3. Absolutely magnificent textures. Well done!

  4. Hi Francine; Good to know that you are feeling better..Will keep you in prayer though… Blessings my sister… Bro Pat.. 🙂

  5. Yes… you are not alone. 🙂 It does look like photos we’ve seen of the moon’s service.

  6. These pictures are incredible! It’s as though the plane just stood still 😀

  7. Flying and looking out the window like a little kid never gets old!

  8. Amazing photos from the window seat of the plane!

  9. These are great. So glad you are feeling better.

  10. This is a FULL post: 1) Your trip to Arizona (if you come back please let me know & I will meet with you anywhere) and 2) Ruth! I have been following her blog for a while … a year? I am delighted to read this good news. I haven’t watched the video yet but I will. Thank you for sharing this good news.

  11. Nice post and beautiful pictures! Love the textures. It’s hard getting good pictures from a plane. I remember once being similarly excited but was firmly told by the air hostess to stay put in my seat!

  12. I love sitting by the window ogling God’s earth too!
    Glad you’re feeling better, Francine!
    God Bless You!

  13. I love aerial shots and yours are super!

  14. What better way to depict “earth” than with aerial shots of the Grand Canyon? Well done, Francine, and good to read you’re feeling well again.

  15. Recently I saw a virtual show on grand canyon at the regional science center here. These pics are just superb.
    Wishing you Good Health 🙂

  16. Nice shot. I need to get out there at some point. and I’m glad you are feeling better–just in time to enjoy the weekend.

  17. Oh I LOVE aerial shots and I prefer a window seat. These pics are so textured!!! Just extraordinary!!!

  18. I love to fly. Seeing the changing landscape below, and the new perspective on the scale of things, is sensational.

    I’m glad you’re feeling much better, Francine. Stay well.

  19. These are wonderful, and i can get that it seems like the surface of the moon – i was wondering at first too.
    Be blessed today!

  20. I’m convinced that so-called “moon-scapes” you frequently see on sci-fi movies are taken here. It does look other worldly. Good job, Francine!

  21. Marvelous photos for the earth topic this week. Thanks for sharing!

  22. Breathtaking my friend.

  23. Your photos are always a delight and these are no exception. My husband travels frequently and tells me often that he never tires of seeing our world through the window of a plane.

  24. Ah, so you’ve been ill- that explains things. Please take good care of yourself and catch up when you really feel like it. We’ll wait. xx

  25. Wow! Amazing shots Francine!


Leave a Reply

