Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD

FORWARD ON THE MONONGAHELA  INCLINE

IMG_8385AAA

Opened in 1870, the Monongahela Incline — called the Mon Incline by locals — is the oldest and steepest incline in the United States, as well as the nation’s oldest cable car operation. It offers beautiful views of downtown Pittsburgh as well as a convenient way for residents of Mt. Washington to get to downtown Pittsburgh. The lower station of the Monongahela Incline is located near the Smithfield Street Bridge, and is easily accessible from Station Square and Pittsburgh’s light rail system.

The Monongahela Incline was consolidated into Port Authority of Allegheny County operations in 1964 and declared a historic structure by the Pittsburgh History and Landmarks Foundation in 1970.

Come take a ride with the children inside up the mountain to enjoy the views of Pittsburgh in the photos below.

IMG_8381AAA

IMG_8384AAA

IMG_8388AAA

IMG_8391AAA

Visit The Daily Post at WordPress.com for more ‘FORWARD’ images.

BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

36 Responses to “WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD”

  1. Great shots of the funicular. That is steep!

  2. Always a race for the front window !
    Good that they kept it going Francine .

  3. I’m putting Pittsburgh on my places to visit when I return to the USA. I’ll have to take this cable car while there. 🙂

  4. I love funiculars. When I went to college in Lugano, I practically lived on them, having to do my grocery shopping in “downtown”–which was downhill and obviously having to bring it home, which was way up the mountain/hill! Usually, by the end of the month I would run out of cash (college days) and I would have to walk uphill. Great memories! Thanks for this!!

  5. […] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD « Francine In Retirement […]

  6. […] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD « Francine In Retirement […]

  7. My daughter lives in Sewickley…I’m going to strongly suggest she take me on this 🙂

  8. I love riding on a funicular, Francine. Great photos. 🙂

  9. As I commented before…I usually learn something new from your blog!

  10. That’s really neat to see something like this outside of europe 🙂

  11. the color scheme makes this scene almost like in a fairytale story. what an enjoyable day this must have been. 🙂

  12. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]

  13. I love funiculars even if the make me a little nervous!

  14. Great seeing the Little Ones’ faces peering out of the windows. Must be a wonderful view!

  15. […] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD « Francine In Retirement […]

  16. I remember taking a ride on that one summer when my son was doing some activities at U of P.

  17. Fantastic pictures and area! I love it there!

  18. Great shots! I recently saw them at night too!

  19. Love these pictures, another bucket list item! LOL

  20. Nice shots…been on them many times.

  21. […] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD « Francine In Retirement […]

  22. This looks like an interesting ride.

  23. Love the inclines Monongahela and Duquesne and up-top some of the best views of a city I’ve ever seen. Lots of history too!

  24. […] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD « Francine In Retirement […]

  25. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]

  26. I have never given much thought to such inclines in Pittsburgh. It makes me think of San Francisco, CA. Thanks for the pictures, Francine.

  27. Great idea and photos, Francine!

  28. […] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD « Francine In Retirement […]

  29. […] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD « Francine In Retirement […]

  30. […] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD « Francine In Retirement […]

  31. […] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD « Francine In Retirement […]

  32. […] WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FORWARD « Francine In Retirement […]

  33. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward […]


Leave a Reply

