Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

SUNDAY POST: PLAINS

RAIN ON THE PLAINS

I live in Pennsylvania, known for its hills and mountains.  So I had to travel to Arizona to see some really flat land that was visible for miles and miles.  The below photos were taken while traveling across an Indian reservation in Cameron, Arizona.

In the middle of our drive the weather took on a dramatic change and in the distance I saw this amazing scene.

Our driver told us what we were witnessing was known as a “Virga”.  Virga (aka fallstreak, fall-stripe) are generally streaks of rain or snow appearing to hang under a cloud or tapering down from the cloud base, descending and evaporating before reaching the ground.

So when Eliza Doolittle of My Fair Lady said, “the rain on the plains,” was this what she was speaking about?

IMG_2894PPP

IMG_2895PPP

IMG_2896PPP

IMG_2893PPP

IMG_2892PPP

IMG_2857PPP

The above photos were taken through the side window of our van while traveling across the Indian reservation in Cameron, Arizona.

The last photo shows what is called a “mesa.”

mesa (Spanish and Portuguese for table) is the American English term for tableland, an elevated area of land with a flat top and sides that are usually steep cliffs. It takes its name from its characteristic table-top shape.

The term mesa is used throughout the United States to describe a flat-topped mountain or hill. In Spanish such a landform is more usually known as a meseta.

See more entries to Jakesprinter’s challenge at Sunday Post: Plains.

BE ENCOURAGES! BE BLESSED!

19 Responses to “SUNDAY POST: PLAINS”

  1. I love your plains with the “Virga.” Having traveled across the western USA, I know the mesas, and I love them! Great post for the challenge!

  2. Oh are so right. Nothing in Pittsburgh with the flatness or plains. I liked your series from your trip though. Such a different terrain

  3. This post are different and amazing, Thanks for sharing my friend 🙂

  4. When I saw this week’s challenge in your post’s title, Francine, I knew that you’d include some photos from your trip West. Having crossed the Plains a few times, it’s a sight one doesn’t easily forget. Mile after mile of tableland and, when a storm hits, you can watch it rumble your way for what looks like a hundred miles — just like you’ve captured here. 🙂

  5. This is really interesting, and I am very grateful to being able to learn about this phenomenon, which I ignored.
    A very nice day from Italy, where it snows a lot since 2 days….!

  6. Beautiful shots Francine!!! What a spectacular place!
    🙂

  7. Nice shots–I do miss the plains.

  8. […] SUNDAY POST: PLAINS | Francine In Retirement […]

  9. I so enjoyed this b/w post of Arizona..I have not had the priviledge to visit there so this was a treat for me. Blessings, Laurie

  10. I didn’t know that the “rainy” look was called…cool! These are great photos, especially in black and white. Funny that you felt Pennsylvania doesn’t have “plains”…I posted a photo of a visit to PA because compared to NE…it has plains to me! 🙂

  11. I nominated you for the ‘Beautiful Blogger Award’ Congratulations!!!
    http://wp.me/p2ddEF-1eA

  12. Wonderfully atmospheric shots, Francine! Your mesa had me fooled. Looks like Victoria Falls at a distance. I’ll get my eyes tested immediately.

  13. […] Sunday Post: Plains (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]

  14. Stunning landscape!

  15. That is a really dramatic change in the sky. A very nice group of pix’s of the “Plains”.

  16. Wow! Enjoyed these pictures Francine.


Leave a Reply

