Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

THE COLOR PURPLE

COLOR ME PURPLE

img_7409

Purple is the color of good judgment. It is the color of people seeking spiritual fulfillment. It is said if you surround yourself with purple you will have peace of mind. Purple is a good color to use in meditation.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

IMG_4426b

PERSONALITY OF COLOR PURPLE

  • Having a personality color purple or violet as your favorite color means you are sensitive and compassionate, understanding and supportive, thinking of others before yourself – you are the person others come to for help – being needed motivates you but sometimes people take advantage of you.
  • You are a gentle and free spirit. Your feelings run deep and you can be quite sensitive to hurtful comments from others, although you would never show it.

Visit Cee’s Photography for more entries to her challenge here.

BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

31 Responses to “THE COLOR PURPLE”

  1. Beautiful, Francine!!! πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful! think you just described my personality aa a whole πŸ™‚

  3. err *as a πŸ™‚

  4. Reblogged this on My story to you.. and commented:
    So dead on, for some of us. πŸ™‚

  5. Wonderful pictures! I should have thought of lavender because I did purple too!

  6. Beautiful photos, Francine. My mom wears mostly different shades of purple. She’s a lovely person. πŸ™‚

  7. Oh dear! How you have touched my heart. You must of course know the poem by Jenny Joseph called “Warning: When I Am an Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple.” In case your readers don’t, here it is:

    When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple

    with a red hat that doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.

    And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves

    and satin candles, and say we’ve no money for butter.

    I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired

    and gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells

    and run my stick along the public railings

    and make up for the sobriety of my youth.

    I shall go out in my slippers in the rain

    and pick the flowers in other people’s gardens

    and learn to spit.

    You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat

    and eat three pounds of sausages at a go

    or only bread and pickles for a week

    and hoard pens and pencils and beer nuts and things in boxes.

    But now we must have clothes that keep us dry

    and pay our rent and not swear in the street

    and set a good example for the children.

    We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

    But maybe I ought to practice a little now?

    So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised

    When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

    ********************
    I did a post some time ago – on “The Color Purple,” and of course quoted Alice Walker’s famous line from her book of the same title.

    Here is the link to that post: https://paulatohlinecalhoun1951.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/the-color-purple/#

    Make sure you click on the photos for a larger view of them.
    This was early on in my photography adventures when all I had was my point and shoot, but nevertheless, The Color Purple came to my mind, and I am indeed grateful for Lady Bird Johnson’s initiative, started so long ago, and stil bearing fruit, to beautify our American Highways!

    This is a beautiful post – so glad it was at the top of my reading list this morning! I can hardly wait for the spring to come again and bring us purple outdoors – especially on our butterfly bushes. I am also delighted to know that I will soon be 62, and feeling of the age to wear purple more often, and red hats that don’t suit!

    All the best,
    Paula

  8. Purple is my favorite color! What a great post, Francine. I really enjoyed it!

  9. Well my blog theme color is purple…so you know there is love here! Fun post…blessings

  10. I so love rhodies. Great photos and slide show!

  11. These are lovely flowers, Francine. Purple is pretty. I got purple colored flowers the most in the garden. I guess I simply reach out for the purple flower without thinking about it.

  12. Purple and lavender flowers are my favorites in the garden, especially during the evening hours when they really pop. You have provided lovely examples.

  13. Great info, I’ve never heard any of these before.

  14. Purple (a little bit between blue and red) is also one of my favorite colors!

  15. So funny to see this post because my favorite color is purple!

  16. Beautiful!

  17. Beautiful purple flowers, Francine!

  18. Aww now I understand why purple is my favorite color!!

  19. Quite the beautiful collection of purple blooms, Francine. Love the phalaenopsis.

  20. The pictures are so beautiful. Nice to know that the color can do so much! Thanks.

  21. This reminds me of last year’s Weekly Photo Challenge on purple.

  22. This is my favorite color and the personality traits are pretty accurate. I didn’t know that. Thanks!

  23. God Bless you Francine, for sharing this beautiful site with words of encouragement and wisdom. I was told recently that the color of purple was all around me and I have never really studied or paid too much attention to its meaning. You have helped me by providing more clarity on the subject

  24. ahh the royal color.

    beautiful πŸ™‚

  25. Beautiful photos and sentiment to go with. I, too, did my post on the color purple… my favorite color because of lilacs, my favorite flower. Really nice post!

  26. Very beautiful work, lady! I look forward to more and more…Skip

  27. Exquisite selection of beautiful flowers. Of course, my favorite are the orchids. I cannot resist their magical look. Fabulous shots ….

  28. Love this Francine.

  29. Wonderfully creative post. Love it!


Leave a Reply

