Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

CIRCLES AROUND PITTSBURGH

IMG_1204ccc

“Meet me under Kaufmann’s clock.”  The clock is a Pittsburgh icon, the store is now known as Macy’s.

*****

It’s time to see some other circles around Pittsburgh that I took in the slideshow below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

00000

0000

000

00

0

Circles commonly represent unity, wholeness, and infinity. Without beginning or end, without sides or corners, the circle is also associated with the number one.

 

CircleSymbolMeaning1

000

00

0

To view other circles and curves visit Cee’s Foto Challenge here.

“Have a blessed day that encourages and inspired you in every way!”

Francine

 

39 Responses to “CIRCLES AROUND PITTSBURGH”

  1. Your photographs are always so wonderful! Layers upon layers of subject matter. I could sit and stare for hours. Thank you I needed the escape today!

  2. Love this post. You could say I have a heart for circles 😉 I love how circles symbolize inclusiveness, but also exclusiveness. It all depends on how they are defined. Thanks.

  3. Beautiful series of pictures and the quote is so incredibly true!

  4. Lovely photos for Cee’s challenge, Francine. That clock is so pretty. 🙂

  5. I much prefer curvy shapes to straight lines, Pittsburgh has plenty! I’d like to see inside the conservatory, any photos? 🙂

  6. The clock is gorgeous. Almost, too beautiful for outdoors. The saying you added with it is wonderful.

  7. Wonderful circles. I loved all of them!!

  8. Such a beautiful clock. When I look at your pictures, Francine, I have a yen to see Pittsburgh (never thought that before). Seems there are many gems to see in your city.

  9. Thank you for the beautiful tour of Pittsburgh! Beautiful city, Franacine.

  10. Great response, Francine! That clock is a real beauty. We have one, the Field’s Clock, that is now known as the Macy’s Clock, too. 😦

  11. You know you’re a great ambassador for Pittsburgh, Francine!

    • Thank you for the compliment. When I started my photo blog I thought about posting things I knew about and loved. I love living in the city of Pittsburgh. We make the No. 1 most livable cities on a number of occasions,

  12. Thanks for commenting on my Circle post. I like your interpretations too and the quotation at the end.

  13. Great circles around Pittsburgh, Francine. I really can’t wait to visit there in the fall. 🙂

  14. Kaufmann is a German name…

  15. That is a large apartment building.

  16. What great great photos of circles! You are so clever to ‘see’ the circles in everything. I so enjoyed Pittsburgh when I visited so many years ago… and you make me want to go back!

  17. Thanks for coming bakc and commenting on my post Industrial. I ke your Widget about retirement, as I am semi-retired and soon getting there. I am following your Blog and hope you’ll follow mine too. Have a blessed day

  18. Hi Francine, I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award: http://catbirdinafrica.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    I hope you’ll accept but if you feel it’s too much work, I certainly understand!! 🙂

  19. Great post, Francine! I have family in that area, but have never visited there. Looks interesting…

    Have a great weekend,
    Skip

  20. Wonderful! My favorite, the circle inspired by God’s words.

  21. Very clever and appealing way to give us a tour aROUND Pittsburgh!
    Are the sculptured eyes by Louise Bourgeois, I wonder.
    And a happy Easter to you, Francine.

    • Yes you are correct, it is a collaboration between artists Louise Bourgeois, landscape architect Daniel Urban Kiley and architect Michael Graves.

      BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!


Leave a Reply

