Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

SEVEN CRIES FROM CALVARY

THE CRY OF FORGIVENESS

IMG_3265CCC

Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.”And they divided up his clothes by casting lots.

Luke 23:34

THE CRY OF SALVATION

IMG_3275CCC

We are punished justly, for we are getting what our deeds deserve. But this man has done nothing wrong.”  Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.”  Jesus answered him, “Truly I tell you, today you will be with me in paradise.”

Luke 23: 41-43

THE CRY OF PROVISION

IMG_3278CCC

When Jesus saw his mother there, and the disciple whom he loved standing nearby, he said to her, “Woman, here is your son,”  and to the disciple, “Here is your mother.” From that time on, this disciple took her into his home.

John 19: 26,27

THE CRY OF DESERTION

IMG_3262CCC

About three in the afternoon Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?”(which means “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”).

Matthew 27:46

THE CRY OF SUFFERING

IMG_3266CCC

Later, knowing that everything had now been finished, and so that Scripture would be fulfilled,Jesus said, “I am thirsty.”

John 19:28

THE CRY OF VICTORY

IMG_3267CCC

When he had received the drink, Jesus said, “It is finished.” With that, he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.

John 19:30

THE CRY OF DEATH

IMG_3282HHH

Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.” When he had said this, he breathed his last.

Luke 23:46

The above photos were taken at the Chapel of the Holy Cross in Sedona, Arizona.

You can find more information on the link located here.  Praying you have a blessed weekend as you remember the death of Christ.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

17 Responses to “SEVEN CRIES FROM CALVARY”

  1. great post, thank you for the precious reminder. 🙂

  2. Happy Easter, Francine!

  3. Often I can recognise your posts before I even look at the name, Francine. This is a wonderfully moving tribute.
    Have a blessed Easter.

  4. Thank you for this intense and intimate representation of Jesus’ death which is the most profound part of His life…” Father, Into your hands I commit my spirit.” …Thank you for posting this. God bless you Francine. Betty

  5. Great photos, Francine. And I loved the scripture you placed with each to tell the crucifixion story.
    God Bless you!

  6. I am always brought to tears when I hear the last words of Jesus: “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.” I have to keep reminding myself it’s Easter, living in a Muslim country, but this post is a great reminder! Happy Easter, Francine. 🙂

  7. Simply beautiful 🙂 Thanks Darrell

  8. A beautifully photographed post, Francine. Happy Easter!

  9. Easter blessings to you and your family Francine!

  10. I needed to read this today. I’m currently at work and can’t fully observe the Holy Week. Thanks for sharing the Seven Cries From Calvary. We all need to remember, relive, reflect on the suffering of Jesus so he can save us from our sins. “Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.” When he had said this, he breathed his last.” I hope to share my weekend of work as a way to join Christ suffering. When we help others, when we ease their pain, when we comfort our brothers and sisters, somehow, we are sharing God love and goodness. Thanks for sharing this beautiful post.

  11. Happy Easter blessing to you and your family!
    xo

  12. Happy Easter.. Blessing to you…!!

  13. We are truly blessed. Thank you, Francine. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  14. A powerful post with many, many significant images.
    Blessings …
    Isadora

  15. Lovely post, Francine.

  16. […] Seven Cries From Calvary (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

