Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

TRAVEL THEME: PALE

IMG_3100BBB

Yesterday, April 6, 2013, I took my first travel adventure of the year.  On this tour I photographed some of the War Memorials located in Washington D.C.  Look for these photos starting Monday, April 8th.

Today I am posting photos for Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Pale.  One of the reasons I traveled back to D.C., during this time of year, was to capture the cherry blossoms in bloom.

If you remember last year I went to the 100th Anniversary of the Cherry Blossom Festival for the same reason.  They eluded me then and there were few to find this year as well.

Last year the trees bloomed early and were gone by the time we arrived there.  This year, most of them were just starting to bud and the full bloom is expected next week for the annual Cherry Blossom parade.  Oh well, there is always next year.

IMG_3098BBB

On the way to the War Memorials, I encountered these scenes of people enjoying a beautiful spring day in Washington, D.C.  I stumbled  upon a spring wedding, a couple of tourist taking pictures and a few pictures of cherry blossoms.

A PALE TOUCH

IMG_3025AAA

IMG_3154BBB

IMG_3156AAA

IMG_3165AAA

 

WATCH OUT FOR WAR MEMORIAL SERIES

STARTING APRIL 8, 2013

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

25 Responses to “TRAVEL THEME: PALE”

  1. Lucky couple having wedding photos there! and what a beautiful house and garden in the last photo 🙂

    • It did look like a beautiful weeding. There were white chairs draped with pink for the attendees to the wedding to sit. The last photo was taking while driving past the Science Building. Albert Einstein’s statue is in front of it. I will show him in a later post.

  2. Those first blossoms are so beautiful.

  3. Ah…warm beautiful day. Love it 🙂

  4. Cherry Blossom shouts Spring Francine ! Lovely. I think a lot of people are on tenterhooks waiting for it to happen once and for all instead of stop – start !

  5. There are always compensations, Francine. You captured some lovely shots anyway.

    • I had a wonderful time. Wait until you see my War Memorial shots. They were so inspiring to me. More than enough compensation. Thanks for stopping by. Have a great week.

  6. I like the wedding photographer at work in your shot of the memorial.

    • I really stumbled upon this occasion and was far away so I had to be quick to get this shot. It took me only seconds to get closer but by them the whole scene had changed and the bride and groom had moved out of the building.

  7. My chnerry tree usually blossoms for my birthday on March 28 – it was a birthday present. It is just now starting!

  8. That chnerry should be a CHERRY!

  9. Beautiful! There are no signs of cherry blossoms in Toronto yet.

  10. those pale blossoms are splendid francine, and the magnolia is incredible … so huge! lovely wedding capture too 🙂

  11. There’s nothing quite like it, is there? Blossom and spring … 🙂

  12. How beautiful is that! Nicely done, Francine, and a gorgeous response to the challenge.

  13. They are still beautiful, even if late. I was just in Amsterdam and missed the tulips since they haven’t bloomed either because of the cold winter. Like you said, there’s always next year.

  14. […] Travel Theme: Pale (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]

  15. just lovely Francine…love the wedding. Spring is such a magical time don’t you think ?

  16. Spring at its best. Beautiful!

  17. What a gorgeous setting for a wedding. Those pale blossoms are so pretty, Francine.


Leave a Reply

