Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

KOREAN WAR VETERANS MEMORIAL

IMG_2851kkk

This is my first travel adventure of 2013 with my favorite tour company, Lenzner Tour and Travel. It is also Series One of the War Memorials in Washington, D.C.  Tomorrow  I will post a visit to The Marine Corps War Memorial.

There is continued talk on television news stations and written reports in newspapers and on the internet concerning the situation happening in North Korea and the threats they may pose to the rest of the world.  A link to some of these reports can be found here.

I found it doubly significant that one of our stops on the War Memorials Tour (Spring in D.C.) was at the very moving and popular Korean War Veterans Memorial display.  Hopefully by reviewing the past we can find our way through a possible uncertain future.

“FREEDOM IS NOT FREE”

IMG_2852kkk

The Memorial is unique in that it presents an aura of commitment both by a generation of young American soldiery as well as their comrades from 20 other nations of the United Nations and the Republic of South Korea. Dedicated to the concept that “Freedom Is Not Free” , the Memorial does not glorify war but rather the determination of our people to assist other people in preserving their freedom!

IMG_2860kkk

Unique among war memorials, and one of the most visited, the Korean War Veterans Memorial features a column of 19 sculptures representing those members of the Armed Forces of the United States that directly engaged the enemy in ground, sea and air combat and depicts the ethnic and racial makeup of those forces. The sculptures are flanked by a Wall filled with over 2500 photos depicted on the granite surface of personnel and scenes of the war.

Due to the vast crowds and time restraints, we were unable to view all 19 sculptures, nor the granite wall displays.

I hope you enjoy the YouTube slideshow of the photos I took below.  It was a very moving experience.  The life-size figures of the solders appearing to walk out of the woods of the battlefield, with their suffering and experiences clearly written on their faces for all to see.  “A walk from darkness to light”, someone somewhere I read said.

The Bible gives us hope concerning wars and the rumors of wars.

MATTHEW 24:6,7

“And you will hear of wars and rumors of wars. See that you are not alarmed,

for this must take place, but the end is not yet.  

For nation will rise against nation,

and kingdom against kingdom,

and there will be famines and earthquakes

in various places.”

BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

14 Responses to “KOREAN WAR VETERANS MEMORIAL”

  1. A moving and thought-provoking post, Francine. This is truly a special memorial and your photography captured it very well.

  2. Impressive sculptures – the expressions!

  3. It is amazing to see. Was there over 15 years ago.

  4. I do become alarm when I hear of war and rumors…then I have to remind myself…this is in the mastersplan…keep the faith.

  5. I’ve not seen this memorial, although the most moving to me was the VietNam memorial, because that was in my time, I Imagine. These are very moving pictures, thanks for sharing them.

    • Vietnam was in my time as well. Lost a number of school friends during it. I will be posting pictures of the Vietnam Memorial on Wednesday. Thanks for stopping by.

      BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  6. Francine, these are amazing sculptures. Very life like. You captured some awesome poses. 🙂

  7. Gripping pictures and words…good post!

    Skip

  8. Francine,
    Such an appropriate post in these troubled times. Hopefully, people will come to their senses before we have another Korean war.
    My father is on The Wall, so I can’t wait for your next post. {{{Hugs]}} Kozo

  9. I visited this Memorial when I was in D.C. some years back and it left a harrowing sadness in me. I like your coverage.

  10. A beautiful tribute to our heroes. Their memory should always be remembered and celebrated.

  11. […] Francine (Be inspired, be […]

  12. […] Korean War Veterans Memorial (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

