Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

THE VIETNAM VETERANS MEMORIAL

THE WALL

The third in my series of D.C. Memorials is The Vietnam Veterans Memorial.  The Vietnam Veterans Memorial pays tribute to those who served in the Vietnam War. The memorial is a black granite wall inscribed with the names of 58,209 American’s killed or missing in the Vietnam conflict.

IMG_2971VVV

IMG_2976VET

A life-size bronze statue depicting three young servicemen is located near the Vietnam Memorial Wall. Nearby is the Vietnam Women’s Memorial, a sculpture of two women in uniform tending to the wounds of a male soldier while a third woman kneels nearby.
THREE SOLDIERS STATUE
A short distance away from the wall is another Vietnam memorial, a bronze statue named The Three Soldiers (sometimes called The Three Servicemen).  The statue, which was unveiled in 1984, depicts three soldiers, purposefully identifiable as White American, African-American, and Hispanic American. In their final arrangement, the statue and the Wall appear to interact with each other, with the soldiers looking on in solemn tribute at the names of their fallen comrades. The distance between the two allows them to interact while minimizing the impact of the addition on Lin’s design.
IMG_2952VVV

VIETNAM WOMAN’S MEMORIAL

The Vietnam Women’s Memorial is a memorial dedicated to the women of the United States who served in the Vietnam War, most of whom were nurses. It serves as a reminder of the importance of women in the conflict. It depicts three uniformed women with a wounded soldier. The woman looking up is named Hope, the woman praying is named Faith, and the woman tending to a wounded soldier is named Charity. It is part of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial, and is located on National Mall in Washington DC, a short distance south of The Wall, north of the Reflecting Pool.

vietnamwomenVVV

At the time of my visit I didn’t know about the Women’s Memorial, so I downloaded the above photo from the internet.

PHOTOS FROM THE MEMORIAL

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While at “The Wall” one of our traveling buddies looked up a fallen hero, his name appears below and in one of the photos taken at “The Wall”.

William Stanley Master

Corporal
B BTRY, 2ND BN (ARA), 20TH ARTY RGT, 1 CAV DIV
Army of the United States
05 July 1944 – 07 February 1967
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Panel 15E Line 006

phndvsvcvvv

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

23 Responses to “THE VIETNAM VETERANS MEMORIAL”

  1. You are doing such a lovely tribute to these men who have fought for our country my friend.

  2. Thank you for this Francine. My dad’s name is on that wall. Your post reminds me to take my sons to the memorial in the future. I love the reflection shots. I might have to steal that idea from you when my sons visit. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

    • When you visit, there are volunteers there with a book listing all the names on the wall. They will direct you to where your dad’s name is listed. You can go on line and get the information listed behind his name and the medals he has won and a brief history plus a picture if one was available.

  3. The touring wall is priceless if it comes to anyone’s area it is a must see. We went to Ft. Campbell when it stopped there and were able to send pictures back to NY State to families who would not get to see the wall. Thank you for sharing. Thank you for the service your family has given to our country.

  4. Wow, does that ever bring back some memories. I lost a couple of acquaintances over there but fortunately no close friends; however, I did have some friends that came back with what they now call PTSD (shell-shock then) and a couple have some serious problems to this day. I had a college deferment and then along came the lottery and I received a high number. It is a good thing that I did not have to go as I cannot – will not – kill another human being. I considered myself to be a conscientious objector but the draft board did not see it that way. To receive one, you had to be a Mennonite, Amish, or of any of the faiths that were on their list. Not being able to kill did not count! Francine, I hated that war because it was fought immorally, in my opinion, and much like the Iraq fiasco; our government lied its way into what was, in essence, a civil war. Yes, I was one of those awful protestors that most Americans hated. On the other hand, I was NEVER involved in harassing returning soldiers; in fact, I welcomed them back. I firmly believe that the media played that issue up about mistreating, even spitting on soldiers; I NEVER saw it happen myself anyway and definitely did not do such a nasty thing. I was a PACIFIST!!!!

    • People have so many reactions to this war. It took place right when I was graduating from high school. A lot of my classmates fought in this war, some losing their lives, so it has a special place in my heart. They are no longer here, so I honor them for their sacrifice in behalf of my freedom. Thank you for expressing your beliefs.

      BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

      • Thank you for your kindness and your open mind. I waxed and waned about posting that reply for fear of angering you or those that lost loved ones in that awful war. I would want everyone to know that I have a heart and I hurt for those that lost friends and family; however, I wanted to be honest about my personal feelings. Once again, I NEVER MISTREATED RETURNING SOLDIERS and to those that did I have no respect. Thanks again to Francine and all of the other posters for not blasting me.

      • I respect your opinion. I could tell by your words you had feelings for those who lost their lives and their families. I could not be angry at someone for expressing their feelings if not doing so to harm anyone.

  5. The Vietnam Veterans Memorial is one of my favorite places on the mall for reflection on those who served and lost their lives for our country. It’s a lovely spot, full of grace.

  6. I’m in tears every time I see the picture of the wall….

    • It is a heartwarming memorial. You witness people finding their loved ones and their emotional tribute to them. Special moments in time I won’t forget. Thanks for stopping by Amy.

  7. I’ve long regarded this as the most impressive war memorial in all of the US.

    I think it could only be rivaled; not that any sense of competition is important here, by a 9/11 memorial.

    It is important to always remember.

    • You are correct, it is impressive. I can’t wait until I see the 9/11 memorial. I don’t think it is complete yet, but I will be returning to New York at the end of the month and I hope to see it. Have a blessed week.

  8. Such a waste of lives! Nice monuments, but still, what a waste.

  9. No words, Francine, only Thank You!

  10. […] The Vietnam Veterans Memorial (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]

  11. […] The Vietnam Veterans Memorial (francineinretirement.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

