Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: NOSTALGIC

GHOSTS OF THE PAST

I have always been fascinated by history and the lifestyle of people before I was born.  In my retirement years, I like to visit some of these places whenever I can.

IMG_5888n

Last year I traveled back over 200 years to Harman and Margaret Blennerhassett’s  island mansion located in Parkersburg, WV.  There was no electricity on the island.

IMG_5748AAA

We were welcomed by people dressed in 18th-century costumes as the soft glow of candlelight weaved a mesmerizing spell upon us.

IMG_5671h

IMG_5699h

We were guest at an 18th-century party, took a horse-drawn wagon ride and listened to haunting stories of local folklore.

IMG_5837AAA

IMG_5754bbb

Party and storytelling by bonfire

Life for me, an African-American woman in the 18th-century, would probably have been one of  slavery.  Hopefully in my retirement, I will travel and photograph some of the history of slavery in the United States from the lens of my camera.  I know the written history of slavery and some stories passed down from one generation to another.  Many people became aware of it by watching Alex Haley’s ROOTS, but I would love to visit some places up close and personal.  “I love my life today.”

Visit the Daily Post at WordPress.com to see more entries.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

16 Responses to “WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: NOSTALGIC”

  1. What a story that was! It was good that he wrote this book and that it was made into a film so it could reach everyone. It was a story that needed to be told.

  2. Each time I visit with you I always find it truly exciting in the dreams and the reality of life that you allow your mind to explore, capture and live out. It is truly great to know that there are those who in retirement dare to live their dreams and are willing to share the same with all of us. Thank you my friend, and be truly blessed as you move forward in continuing to explore the depths of your heart desires and walk out your purpose. I love the work you are doing here.

  3. I love those ‘ghosts!’

  4. Wonderful Francine, you would find a visit to Ghana very moving.

  5. You always have such amazing ideas and pics for the challenges, Francine. 🙂

  6. This would make such an interesting visit. Sort of a live-history museum. Love it.

  7. What an interesting place you visited. Felt like I was there , too.
    I am not sure I would enjoy no electricity, though. Always enjoy your photographs and words, Francine.

  8. Wonderful, excellent captured… 🙂

  9. History has captivated me since I was a child and I pursued it in college and grad school. I would love to visit this place and I wish you well on your quest. Knowledge is power and hopefully we can learn from it.

  10. A journey through time, Francine!! Must have been a wonderful experience!
    🙂

  11. I remember this post, Francine, and it’s every bit as fascinating now as it was the first time around. Thanks for sharing it again.

  12. Sounds like a great experience Francine. My only exposure to the life of African Americans is through Roots. Look forward to exploring it through your lens 🙂

  13. that is great and different 🙂

  14. “Life for me, an African-American woman in the 18th-century, would probably have been one of slavery…” Let’s be happy, that those times are gone. Even in the sixties still were bad conflicts!

  15. A post filled with emotions of all kinds. I hope you do get to visit the places that will give you more insight into the past of African Americans. History is always fascinating and, at times, shocking.
    Blessings to you ….


Leave a Reply

