Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

THE IMMIGRANTS

IMG_7887I

Once again I found myself in New York City this past week.  This time everyone came with me. My daughter and three grandchildren.  More about their experiences in a later post.

On this visit we stopped in Battery Park on the way to take the Statue of Liberty tour.  It was here I found this amazing sculpture of The Immigrants.  Sculptor Luis Sanguino (b. 1934) celebrates the diversity of New York City and the struggle of immigrants in this heroic-sized bronze figural group

The sculpture depicts figures of various ethnic groups and eras, including an Eastern European Jew, a freed African slave, a priest, and a worker. The figures’ expressive poses emphasize the struggle and toil inherent in the experience of the immigrant or dislocated person.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“DEDICATED TO THE PEOPLE OF ALL NATIONS / WHO ENTERED AMERICA THROUGH CASTLE GARDEN / IN MEMORY OF SAMUEL RUDIN / 1896-1975 / WHOSE PARENTS ARRIVED IN AMERICA IN 1883”

IMG_7890I

P. S. Since I’ve been away for a few days, I hope to catch up on your wonderful post in the next two days.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

23 Responses to “THE IMMIGRANTS”

  1. Very cool, indeed!

  2. A work of art worthy of the name. Lets hope the world recognises what it’s like to aid one of these minorities by offering sanctuary and starts placing a higher value on human life from now on. xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  3. I must visit this park when I go to New York next time. Powerful sculpture and the expressions on the faces are so poignant.

  4. These statues are full of emotions.

  5. This is such a beautiful sculpture, Francine!
    🙂

  6. Very powerful sculpture … it showcases the struggles of these people upon entering a new country. No words needed … the power is in the viewing.
    Fantastic post , Francine.
    Blessings ….

  7. very moving, i can’t help thinking of the desperate plight of refugees around the world now and all the developed nations who turn them back, or like us, put them into detention … so tragic to be fleeing your country looking for asylum …

  8. Definitely a profound post and photos. The sculpture is so full of meaning.

  9. Powerful statement of the long history of their struggle. Thank you for the post, Francine!

  10. A beautiful sculpture.

  11. That is wonderful!

  12. A wonderful piece to celebrate those who gave up everything to bet here. Thanks for sharing it with us, Francine.

  13. Good morning my love,.
    I really like such sculptures.
    I posted such similar for me on WP too.
    You’re blessed many hugs
    A nice day Andrea wish from the heart

  14. Great shots, I’d love to visit this place.

  15. It’s beautiful. We’re heading to NY soon!

  16. Very powerful and moving! You captured them well.

  17. Beautiful Francine – been there many, many times but never noticed this. Will look for it next time!!

  18. Inspiring. Me and my family are part of the countless people who dreamed for a better life in America. It is important to be reminded why we travelled this far and where we hope to be. Of what’s truly important. Of what is of meaning to us and not what others dictates.

  19. I’ve only toured the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island from the New Jersey side. I think I’d like to go from the New York side as well… a different perspective.

  20. I’ve been to this area several times and have somehow missed these statues! Thanks for sharing – visiting them is now on my agenda!

  21. So beautifully captivating! Hugs and blessings!


Leave a Reply

