Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

TAGGED “F” – FIREMEN

IMG_1560FE

What is a fireman?

He is the guy next door – a man’s man with the memory of a little boy. He has never gotten over the excitement of engines and sirens and danger.

He is a guy like you and me with wants and worries and unfulfilled dreams.

Yet he stands taller than most of us.

He is a fireman.

He puts it all on the line when the bell rings.

A fireman is at once the most fortunate and the least fortunate of men.

He is a man who saves lives because he has seen too much death.

He is a gentle man because he has seen the awesome power of violence out of control.

He is responsive to a child’s laughter because his arms have held too many small bodies that will never laugh again.

He is a man who appreciates the simple pleasures of life – hot coffee held in numb, unbending fingers – a warm bed for bone and muscle compelled beyond feeling – the camaraderie of brave men – the divine peace and selfless service of a job well done in the name of all men.

He doesn’t wear buttons or wave flags or shout obscenities.

When he marches, it is to honor a fallen comrade.

He doesn’t preach the brotherhood of man.

He lives it.

Author unknown

GOING TO A FIRE

A firefighters Pledge

I promise concern for others.
A willingness to help all those in need.
I promise courage – courage to face an conquer my fears.
Courage to share and endure the ordeal of those who need me.
I promise strength – strength of heart to bear whatever burdens
might be placed upon me.
Strength of body to deliver to safety all those placed within my care.
I promise the wisdom to lead, the compassion to comfort,
and the love to serve unselfishly whenever I am called

Author unknown

RETURNING TO THE STATION

These photos I took were taken from two different locations in our city.  Engine 6 and 17 were from the Eastside of the city and on route to a fire.  Engine 24 is located on the Southside and was returning from a fire.

On top of the cold temperatures and snow our firefighters have had their hands full with the increasing number of fires occurring in our city.  As the sign says in one of the photos, firemen are our diamond in the ruff, our unsung heroes.  We salute them for their service.

LOCAL FIRE PHOTOS TAKEN BY CBS PITTSBURGH

Flickr Comments has more Tagged “F” images, visit him to see more.

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

10 Responses to “TAGGED “F” – FIREMEN”

  1. Brilliant shots, thank you 🙂

  2. Thank you for this blog and honoring fireman. As a parent of a fireman I see this in my son every day. He is now a driver for the Amarillo Fire Department. He was a paramedic for a while before becoming a fireman paramedic. I remember to this day how he was when on one of his calls a baby passed away in his arms and how it tore him up, but he has rebounded and I feel it has made him better a manl.
    Jim a proud dad of a firefighter.

  3. A lovely and deserved tribute!

  4. They risk their lives to save others… they are our heroes! Thank you for the post, Francine!

  5. F for Francine! P.S.: you’ve found wonderful words describing a fireman’s job: “…He is responsive to a child’s laughter because his arms have held too many small bodies that will never laugh again…” – the first fireman who came in my life rescued me from a roof I had climbed up too, aged 7, the roof was from a destroyed, bombed house after the war in Germany, there was no way down, because the staircase broke down. I remember the many people down on the street and the newspaper photographers, staring up to me and the fireman, if he would manage his task… – I have to thank you for this soothing flashback into my past, Francine…

  6. oh we all love those brave firemen … great post Francine!

  7. A great post, Francine, and wonderful tribute to these heroes. Imagine the horror of life without them.


Leave a Reply

