Francine In Retirement
Seeing Life Through Photography

DAILY PROMPT: NEVER GONNA GIVE YOU UP – VICE

Which vice or bad habit can you simply not abide in others?  Photographers, artists, poets: show us VICE.

HOOKED ON PHONES

IMG_8734HP

We all have them, but it really gets on my nerves when you try to talk to a person and they are consumed with their cell phone and text messages. No chance of talking to them until they are finish.  Very frustrating!

IMG_5670HP

You see them everywhere, on the bus, in cars, parks, restaurants, at work and on sidewalks, you name it.

Not only do the young people use them but we senior citizens are found using them as well.  

How is it that our children are given them so in case we need to get in touch with them in a hurry, they don’t answer our calls or texts until hours later?  It beats me.

Cell Phone timeline 

HIstoryofcellphones2HP

Sometimes I long for the good old days.

The Daily Prompt

BE ENCOURAGED!  BE BLESSED!

31 Responses to “DAILY PROMPT: NEVER GONNA GIVE YOU UP – VICE”

  1. It’s often ‘WHO’ messages them lol 😉

  2. […] DAILY PROMPT: NEVER GONNA GIVE YOU UP – VICE | Francine In Retirement […]

  3. It does seem to be a sort of disease which is spreading worldwide.I feel sorry for the children who often take second place to the cell phone, like in a couple of your photos.

  4. Oh my, you have hit on one of my number one pet peeves. Thanks for the smile.

  5. but, but
    i’m blogging
    & reading
    as fast
    as i can 🙂

  6. They don’t use it just for phone, but texting, FB, and everything else… I have the same question, “how can I get hold of you if…,?”

  7. Since I can’t talk to people the worst you’ll ever get from me is an ‘old people’ text as short as possible.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  8. I hear you – what really ticks me off when I see a parent with their child trying to get their attention (or doing something wrong, same thing) and they can not get off their darn phone! Have a great day!

  9. […] DAILY PROMPT: NEVER GONNA GIVE YOU UP – VICE | Francine In Retirement […]

  10. to see it positive: the increasing use of cellphones is a sign for: communication is a treasure. related also to PC users

  11. I agree it has its’ positive purposes, I do have one and it does come in handy. But there are those things I don’t like about it. I miss one on one and face to face conversations.

  12. The worst is when you see a driver do something really dumb and when they get closer …. yep, they are on a cell phone. Distracted drivers = danger.

  13. I get cross when I see babies in prams being ignored when parents are on the phone.

  14. For a ‘communication’ item, it doesn’t seem to bring people together but keep them apart. Phones were used to make a date to see someone. Now they are used to avoid it! I can imagine the expression on my late grandfather’s face if he had seen people walking in the streets ‘talking to themselves’!

  15. From 1994 to 2001, I helped build the networks that make our cell phones work, and for that I apologize. I’m proud to say that I don’t have a smart phone. Still using a flip phone from 2003. It makes and receives phone calls, exactly what a phone should do!…………lol

  16. I agree with you 100 percent, but I can’t help but smile at your post tiltle. I LOVE Barry White. Maybe the positive side of the internet and cell phone use is the awareness of past artists for the future generations. We can only hope, Francine!

  17. Sometimes it seems like I’m the only one that’s not into cellphones. I have an old flip phone similar to the 2002 version in your post! 🙂

  18. You are so right, Francine. I, too, detest how cell phones have suddenly become the center of so many lives.


Leave a Reply

